LibGuides: 2023-2024 US History II: Science

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Science Databases

Gale: Science in Context This link opens in a new window
eLibrary Science This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Science Online This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
FactsOnFile: Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.
AAAS Science Online This link opens in a new window

Databases

Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Knowledge Source® is a comprehensive database portal which is comprised of several distinct reference databases including SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter®, and SIRS® Renaissance®. It provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Through eLibrary, users can find images, video, eBooks, and 100% full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. They can also find maps, transcripts, audio files, graphics, interactives, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, timelines, slideshows, editorially created research pages, and hand-selected websites. Publications are updated promptly, and thousands of new images are added every day.
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

Scholarly Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library containing full-text archives from more than 1,700 academic journals dating back to the first published volume, as wells as thousands of monographs, books and primary sources relevant for education. JSTOR also provides free access to hundreds of thousands of articles in the public domain. Content covers the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire archive is full-text searchable and includes high-quality images. New titles and other materials are added regularly.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window The perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries… Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.
OMNIGRAPHICS Health Reference Library This link opens in a new window Many individuals are deeply concerned about their health and how to deal with medical concerns. They want information to help them take control of their health, but how do they decide which information is reliable and which sources to trust? Omnigraphics’ Health Reference Library is an invaluable medical resource that will give users the confidence they need to confront this challenge.

CREDO Source eBooks
Browse the titles and videos included in your library's collection.

Google Scholar

Microsoft Academic

Microsoft Academic
Research more, search less

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Presented here are the first and last pages of a scholarly article. Click on the highlighted areas of the article to learn about to learn about clues to look for when identifying scholarly sources.
NCSU Libraries: Teach Yourself: Understanding Scholarly Sources
When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles.
more...less...
Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly," while magazine articles are usually considered "popular". A third category, "trade" magazines or journals, are written for professionals in a particular field but are not strictly research related. Below are additional criteria to consider when differentiating between journals and magazines.

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.

Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliographies
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
EasyBib: Annotated Bibliographies

Research Tools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
EasyBib This link opens in a new window
Sign up using your school email address.
Must use coupon code: watchhsnj