LibGuides: 2023-2024 US History II: Presidents

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Issues and Current Events Databases

Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.

CREDO Source eBooks
Browse the titles and videos included in your library's collection.

Books and eBooks

Chronology of the U. S. Presidency by Mathew Manweller (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598846454
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by John R. Vile
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1598843168
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections by William Gerald Shade (Editor); Rob Campbell (Editor); Ballard C. Campbell (Editor); Craig R. Coenen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0765680424
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0684806576
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
From the founding of the United States to the present, concerned citizens have debated the breadth of presidential power in foreign affairs. The Founders, from their reading of European history and their experience with...
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Leonard Williams Levy; Kenneth L. Karst; Adam Winkler
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028648804
Publication Date: 2000-06-19
PRESIDENTIAL POWERS

The powers of the American presidency are amorphous and enormous.
U. S. Presidents and Foreign Policy by Carl Cavanagh Hodge (Editor); Cathal J. Nolan (Editor)
Call Number: R 973.099 US
ISBN: 9781851097906
Publication Date: 2006-12-13
Examines the foreign policy strategies of each U.S. president from George Washington to George W. Bush, and includes a selection of primary source documents and a chronology.
The Complete Book of U. S. Presidents by William A. DeGregorio
Call Number: R 973.099 DE
ISBN: 9780942637922
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Provides personal and professional information and trivia about each of the men who have served as President of the United States from George Washington to George W. Bush.
Complete American Presidents Sourcebook by Roger Matuz; Lawrence W. Baker (Editor)
Call Number: R 973.099 MA
ISBN: 0787648388
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
The Presidency A to Z by Michael Nelson (Editor); CQ Editors
Call Number: R 973.099 PR
ISBN: 1568023596
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The American Presidency by Michael A. Genovese and Alison D. Howard
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438199061
Publication Date: 2021
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Fourth Edition is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day.

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Web Sites

The American Presidency Project (APP): Papers of the Presidents
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
American President: A Reference Resource
The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history to the nation’s most pressing contemporary governance challenges.
more...less...
Based at the University of Virginia, the Miller Center is committed to work grounded in rigorous scholarship and advanced through civil discourse.
American Presidents: Life Portraits
The Peabody Award-winning series profiles the men who have served as chief executive of the United States.
more...less...
This website, created as a companion to C-SPAN's 20th anniversary television series, provides an in-depth look at each of the presidents, their lives, families and administrations.
Biography.com: U.S. Presidents
History.com: U.S. Presidents
Presidents of the United States (POTUS)
Welcome! In this resource you will find background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.
more...less...
If you don’t know which president you are interested in, perhaps the name or subject indexes will help. They are listed at the bottom of the page.
Select the president you want information about from the list below.
The U.S. National Archives : Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries and Museums promote understanding of the presidency and the American experience. We preserve and provide access to historical materials, support research, and create interactive programs and exhibits that educate and inspire.
Whitehouse.gov: The Presidents
POTUS, Presidents of the United States
Welcome! In this resource you will find background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.
more...less...
Select the president you want information about from the list below. If you don’t know which president you are interested in, perhaps the name or subject indexes will help. They are listed at the bottom of the page.

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.