LibGuides: 2023-2024 US History II: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window American Government explains the nuanced structure and foundations of U.S. government and connects these concepts to current issues and questions about political processes, constitutional rights, and international relations.
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window American History surveys American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation’s rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture and thought as they tell one continuous and continuing story of America’s history.
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window The Daily Life through History database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research.
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas is an inherently fun yet authoritative database that deviates from the way in which social studies is usually taught by teaching history through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; transportation and travel…
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
History Study Center This link opens in a new window History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitised primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts. History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.

Issues and Current Events Databases

ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window The Go-To Resource for Student Research A dedicated search interface for all of your EBSCO school or public library databases, Explora offers users the following benefits: Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research High-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers, recognized by library professionals and selected for use in a school environment
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window Through eLibrary, users can find images, video, eBooks, and 100% full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. They can also find maps, transcripts, audio files, graphics, interactives, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, timelines, slideshows, editorially created research pages, and hand-selected websites. Publications are updated promptly, and thousands of new images are added every day.

Miscellaneous Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.

Books and eBooks

American Eras by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414498263
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Westward Expansion Era in U.S. history.
Social Issues in America by James Ciment This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today--everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism. Each entry discusses the historical origins of a particular debate or controversy; the means for dealing with it in the past; current perspectives and arguments; and the implications for society in the near- and long-term future.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-03-15
The Early Republic and Antebellum America by Christopher G. Bates
Call Number: R 973.3 EA (eBook)
ISBN: 9780765681263
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
Calhoun, John C. (1782–1850)
Defining Documents in American History by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: R 304.873 IMM (eBook)
ISBN: 9781682172858
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Defining Documents in American History: Immigration & Immigrant Communities (1650-2016), offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped the lives of immigrants and immigrant communities throughout American history.
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library by Thomson Gale Staff
Call Number: R 303.48 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 1414402147
Publication Date: 2006-10-26
Chronicles and illustrates movements from the American Revolution to the present day. Intended to help students successfully complete research and projects.
The Gun Debate by Glenn Utter (Editor); Grey House
Call Number: R 363.33 GU (eBook)
ISBN: 9781682171035
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Presents varying views on gun rights and gun control and provides listings for various agencies, Web pages, and groups that have taken a stand on the issue
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: R 327.73 EN (eBook)
ISBN: 0684806576
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Essays explain concepts, themes, large ideas, significant movements, and distinctive policies in the history of American foreign relations.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Call Number: R 304.873 EN (eBook)
ISBN: 9781587655999
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765682499
Publication Date: 2013
From abolitionism and woman suffrage to organized labor, civil rights, and the environment, this major reference examines every significant social movement in American history through the early twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by John H. Moore Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028660202
Publication Date: 2007-11-12
U. S. Presidents and Foreign Policy by Carl Cavanagh Hodge (Editor); Cathal J. Nolan (Editor)
Call Number: R 973.099 US
ISBN: 9781851097906
Publication Date: 2006-12-13
Examines the foreign policy strategies of each U.S. president from George Washington to George W. Bush, and includes a selection of primary source documents and a chronology.

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Multi-Cultural Databases

ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window The African American Experience: The American Mosaic provides a comprehensive survey of African American history as its heartbreaking struggles, major movements—political, social, artistic, and literary—and most notable events and legislative reform.
Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic illuminates the historical and contemporary practices and tribulations of more than 150 Native American tribes from all regions of North America.
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
Highlights
Contains more than 10,000 authoritative reference articles, including biographies and discussions of important places, events, movements, ideas, artifacts, and organizations
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window Through eLibrary, users can find images, video, eBooks, and 100% full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. They can also find maps, transcripts, audio files, graphics, interactives, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, timelines, slideshows, editorially created research pages, and hand-selected websites. Publications are updated promptly, and thousands of new images are added every day.

HIVE Virtual Desktop

HIVE Virtual Desktop
Access WHRHS Databases at home using the Hive Virtual Desktop

WHRHS Learning Commons Website

WHRHS Learning Commons Website

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

2023-2024 US History II: Home

U.S. History