LibGuides: Western Expansion: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings

Miscellaneous Databases

Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window The Go-To Resource for Student Research A dedicated search interface for all of your EBSCO school or public library databases, Explora offers users the following benefits: Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research High-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers, recognized by library professionals and selected for use in a school environment
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.

Issues and Current Events Databases

ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window
The perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries…
Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.

Books and eBooks

American Era's by Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Editor)
Call Number: R 973 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 9780787614775
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Westward Expansion Era in U.S. history.
The Early Republic and Antebellum America by Christopher G. Bates
Call Number: R 973.3 EA (eBook)
ISBN: 9780765681263
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
Oregon Trail
The Settlement of America by James A. Crutchfield (Editor); Candy Moulton (Editor); Terry Del Bene (Editor) This work focuses on the settlement of the frontier and expansion of U.S. territory from the Atlantic to Pacific Ocean. It provides the most current scholarship on America’s frontier movement over the course of three centuries. A multicultural approach allows students to consider frontier settlement from multiple perspectives—of explorers and settlers, trappers and traders, Native Americans, immigrants, and women.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765682802
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Expansionism by Richard Sauers
Call Number: 978.02 SA (eBook)
ISBN: 9781604132212
Publication Date: 2010-06-30
Explains how expansionism has been a crucial part of U.S. history.
American Heritage History of the Confident Years by Francis Russell (Adapted by); New Word City Editors (Editor) Here, from New York Times bestselling historian Richard Russell, is the vivid story of the confident years - those days of America's exuberant growth in population, industry, and world prestige - from the end of the Civil War to the outbreak of World War I. Here are the stories of political power struggles, Reconstruction, western expansion, Ellis Island immigrants, the rise of American tycoons and labor unions, and the country's entry into World War I.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781612309507
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Manifest Destiny and the New Nation (1803-1859) by Salem Press
Call Number: R 973.5 MA (eBook)
ISBN: 9781429837422
Publication Date: 2013-10-30
Series: Defining documents in American history
Women in the American West by Laura E. Woodworth-Ney
Call Number: 305.40978 NE
ISBN: 9781598840506
Publication Date: 2008-04-03
Explores the roles and experiences of women in the American West from the early nineteenth century to the present day, focusing on such topics as women's history, home life, immigration, marriage, and political activism.
The American West (1836-1900) by Salem Press
Call Number: R 972.08 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 9781619255333
Publication Date: 2015-01-30
Surveys a broad range of important figures and topics in the American West and provides in-depth analysis of important primary documents from 1836-1900

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great starting point for research.

Multi-Cultural Databases

ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
Highlights
Contains more than 10,000 authoritative reference articles, including biographies and discussions of important places, events, movements, ideas, artifacts, and organizations
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

HIVE Virtual Desktop

HIVE Virtual Desktop
Access WHRHS Databases at home using the Hive Virtual Desktop

WHRHS Learning Commons Website

WHRHS Learning Commons Website

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975