LibGuides: O'Reilly- American Virtues: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

American History & Biography Databases

Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings

Miscellaneous Databases

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library containing full-text archives from more than 1,700 academic journals dating back to the first published volume, as wells as thousands of monographs, books and primary sources relevant for education. JSTOR also provides free access to hundreds of thousands of articles in the public domain. Content covers the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire archive is full-text searchable and includes high-quality images. New titles and other materials are added regularly.
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.

Issues and Current Events Databases

ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

American Eras: Primary Sources by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414498294
Publication Date: 2015-05-28
Vol.6 : The Colonial Era, 1600–1754.

Vol. 6: The Revolutionary Era, 1754–1783.
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Revolutionary Era in U.S. history.
The Schlager Anthology of the American Revolution: A Student's Guide to Essential Primary Sources by Jon Chandler (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781935306597
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
The Revolutionary Period, 1750-1783, Volume 3 by Bruce E. R. Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: 973.3 RE
ISBN: 0737710411
Publication Date: 2003-02-22
Social Issues in America by James Ciment This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today--everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism. Each entry discusses the historical origins of a particular debate or controversy; the means for dealing with it in the past; current perspectives and arguments; and the implications for society in the near- and long-term future.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-03-15
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765682499
Publication Date: 2013
From abolitionism and woman suffrage to organized labor, civil rights, and the environment, this major reference examines every significant social movement in American history through the early twenty-first century.
Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
Call Number: 973.2 CO (eBook)
ISBN: 9781438126975
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Examines the history of people, places, and events that defined the American colonial and revolutionary era.
The American Revolution by Charles W. Carey (Editor) This book presents primary source materials to discuss the American Revolution (1775-1783), explaining the various opinions on taxation and representation, colonial self-rule, and the arguments between the Patriots and the Loyalists.
Call Number: 973.3 AM
ISBN: 0737722606
Publication Date: 2003-08-29
American Revolution by Linda Schmittroth (Compiled by); Stacy A. McConnell (Editor); Barbara Bigelow
Call Number: R 973.3 AM
ISBN: 0787637904
Publication Date: 2000-06-21
A collection of thirty-two excerpts from primary sources related to the American Revolution, written by the Founding Fathers, American civilians and soldiers, and significant British figures; also includes illustrations and informational sidebars.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution by Harold E. Selesky (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780684315133
Publication Date: 2006-05-05
A three-volume survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. The alphabetically arranged entries include biographies as well as discussions of campaigns and strategy; battles, skirmishes, and naval actions; weaponry; political issues and events; and how the European powers participated in the conflict. For students, historians, and general readers
Founding Brothers by Joseph J. Ellis
Call Number: 973.4092 EL
ISBN: 0375405445
Publication Date: 2000-10-17
Profiles the intertwined lives of seven of America's founding fathers, including John Adams, Aaron Burr, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and George Washington.

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window Infobase eBooks are Web-based versions of Infobase Publishing's outstanding print reference books. As one of America's leading providers of educational materials to the school and library market, Infobase offers students, librarians, and educators authoritative, reliable resources supporting the curriculum across a wide range of subject areas.
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window The perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries… Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.

CREDO Source eBooks
Browse the titles and videos included in your library's collection.

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window

Multi-Cultural Databases

ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window The African American Experience: The American Mosaic provides a comprehensive survey of African American history as its heartbreaking struggles, major movements—political, social, artistic, and literary—and most notable events and legislative reform.
Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic illuminates the historical and contemporary practices and tribulations of more than 150 Native American tribes from all regions of North America.
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
Highlights
Contains more than 10,000 authoritative reference articles, including biographies and discussions of important places, events, movements, ideas, artifacts, and organizations
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.