Skip to main content

Griffith - Streetcar Named Desire: Home

STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE

A Streetcar Named Desire (Theater, 1947)

 
Widely recognized as a classic of the modern stage, A Streetcar Named Desire transformed American theater and left a lasting imprint on American culture. Earning Williams a Pulitzer Prize as well as the prestigious New York Drama Critics' Circle Award, Streetcar cemented playwright Tennessee Williams's reputation as a major figure in the American theater.

Premiering at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre in 1947, Streetcar was written by Williams and directed by Elia Kazan. Irene M. Selznick produced the play. Also working on the play were scene designer Jo Mielziner, costumer Lucinda Ballard, and composer Alex North. The origins of A Streetcar Named Desire can be found in earlier works by Williams such as "Blanche's Chair in the Moon" and "Portrait of a Madonna"—the latter of which focuses on a repressed Southern belle whose sexual dreams cause her to be taken to an asylum. More broadly, the play is rooted in the life of Williams himself, whose experience was marked by sexual promiscuity, loneliness, alcohol dependence, and mental instability.

Koprince, Susan. "A Streetcar Named Desire (Theater, 1947)." Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas, ABC-CLIO, 2019, popculture.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1495665. Accessed 8 Nov. 2019.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature Databases

History & Miscellaneous Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books

eBooks

CREDO SOURCE

Scholarly Journal Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search
Google Book Search

Microsoft Academic

Interpreting Tennessee Williams

NoodleTools

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

 This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.