Skip to main content

Sociology: Home

Library resources for the Then, Now, and Future Project

SOCIOLOGY

Sociology
Sociology is the systematic study of the origin and constitution of human society, in particular of social order and social change, social conflict and social problems. It studies institutions such as the family, law, and the church, as well as concepts such as norm, role, and culture. Sociology attempts to study people in their social environment according to certain underlying moral, philosophical, and political codes of behavior...
As a social science, sociology deals with human behavior in its social settings; in particular, it investigates how societies reproduce themselves, develop and change, and also the nature, causes, and effects of social relations and interaction among individuals, and between individuals and groups.

"Sociology." Hutchinson Encyclopedia. 2011. eLibrary. Web. 21 Jan. 2017.

 

 

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

General Databases

eBooks

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975

The social construction of race explained -- Paradox Animation by Dalton Conley

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books and eBooks

TEDxChCh - Linh Do - Defying Social Norms for Social Change

Plagiarism Definition

Plagiarism is presenting someone else's work or ideas as your own, with or without their consent, by incorporating it into your work without full acknowledgement. All published and unpublished material, whether in manuscript, printed or electronic form, is covered under this definition.

"plagiarism, n." OED Online. Oxford University Press, December 2016. Web. 17 December 2016.

Are You Plagiarizing?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Web Sites

The wisdom of sociology: Sam Richards at TEDxLacador

"It is the deviants among us who hold society together." Paradox animation by Dalton Conley

Research Tools

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

 This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.