Skip to main content

Gottlieb - Today's Mockingbird: Home

Library resources for researching Today's Mockingbirds.

To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird

Novel by Harper Lee, published in 1960. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1961, the novel was praised for its sensitive treatment of a child's awakening to racism and prejudice in the American South. It takes place in a small Alabama town in the 1930s and is told from the point of view of six-year-old Jean Louise (“Scout”) Finch. She is the daughter of Atticus Finch, a white lawyer hired to defend Tom Robinson, a black man accused of raping a white woman. By observing the townspeople's reactions to the trial, Scout becomes aware of the hypocrisy and prejudice that exist in the adult world.

 

Footnote:

1 "To Kill a Mockingbird." Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Merriam-Webster, 1995. Literature Resource Center, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/RN1480009196/LitRC?u=watchunghrhs&sid=LitRC&xid=ee18e8f9. 

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Social Studies & Biography Databases

Literature Databases

Multi-Cultural Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books and eBooks

eBooks

What are Databases

Searching Databases

Web Sites

NoodleTools

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

 This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.