LibGuides: Grapes of Wrath: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window

Social Studies Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Study Center This link opens in a new window

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.

History Channel - The Great Depression

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

Critical Companion to John Steinbeck by Jeffrey Schultz
Call Number: R 813.52
ISBN: 9780816043002
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Industrialism in John Steinbeck's by Louise Hawker; Dedria Bryfonski
Call Number: 813 IN
ISBN: 9780737740349
Publication Date: 2008-07-02
This book presents selected writings representing a variety of perspectives on industrialism in "The Grapes of Wrath" by John Steinbeck.
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck by Keith Newlin; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 813.52 GR (eBook)
ISBN: 9781587657153
Publication Date: 2010-10-08
The Grapes of Wrath by Frank Galati (Editor); John Steinbeck; Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 813.52 JO
ISBN: 9780791093054
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Critical Survey of Long Fiction by Carl Rollyson; Carl E. Rollyson; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: R 809.3 CR (eBook available)
ISBN: 9781587655357
Publication Date: 2010-01-25
Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
by Martha Nochimson
Readings on "The Grapes of Wrath" by Gary Weiner (Editor)
Call Number: 813.52 RE
ISBN: 1565109546
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
This book includes a biography of John Steinbeck and nineteen critical essays on The Grapes of Wrath.
John Steinbeck by Clarice Swisher (Editor)
Call Number: 813.52 RE
ISBN: 1565104692
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
This book contains an in-depth biography of John Steinbeck, with contributing writers' essays taken from a wide variety of sources.
The Grapes of Wrath by Louis D. Owens
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0805779981
Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the literary work The Grapes of Wrath, as well as its importance and critical reception. Includes a chronology of the life and works of the author.
Literary Themes for Students by Thomson Gale (Created by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1414404336
Publication Date: 2007-06-29
Provides readers with an overview of literary works that explore the theme of the American dream. Analyzes poetry, plays, short stories, novels, and works of nonfiction that address this theme in some capacity, and how that theme has been treated in literature at different times in history and across diverse cultures.
The Great Depression and the New Deal by Steven L. Danver (Editor); Alan Harris Stein (Editor); Kenneth J. Bindas (Editor); J. Simon Rofe (Editor); Robert Leeson (Editor); Justin Corfield (Editor); Daniel Leab (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598841541
Publication Date: 2009-12-18
Handbook to Life in America by Rodney P. Carlisle
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438126982
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
vii
Preface
“Economic depression cannot be cured by
legislative action or executive pronouncement.”
—
President Herbert Hoover
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression by Robert S. McElvaine (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028656878
Publication Date: 2003-11-01

Dust Bowl Refugee-- Woody Guthrie

Plagiarism Definition

Plagiarism is presenting someone else's work or ideas as your own, with or without their consent, by incorporating it into your work without full acknowledgement. All published and unpublished material, whether in manuscript, printed or electronic form, is covered under this definition.

"plagiarism, n." OED Online. Oxford University Press, December 2016. Web. 17 December 2016.

Are You Plagiarizing?

Research Tools

EasyBib
Sign up using your school email address.
Must use coupon code: watchhsnj

Log-in for Existing EasyBib Account
https://edu.easybib.com/auth/login

NoodleTools

EasyBib Instructions
A Step by Step guide for creating notecards and works cited pages in Easybib.

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Web Sites

About John Steinbeck
Welcome to the website for John Steinbeck: Social Critic and Ecologist, a National Endowment for the Humanities summer institute for teachers
Grapes of Wrath Views from the University of Oklahoma: Two Photographers, Two Novels, and Two Migrations
Steinbeck Now
The Great Depression
Modern American Poetry
History.com: The New Deal
Students can research any time period, event, or person using History.com.
more...less...
From New Deal videos to an audio of John Steinbeck accepting his Nobel Prize in Literature, students can watch, listen, and read about almost anything regarding history.
Hoovervilles during the Great Depression
This Library of Congress photo gallery asks students” In what ways do you think life changed for people who lost their jobs, life savings, and homes, and ended up living in Hoovervilles?
more...less...
Do you think most Hooverville residents had a choice about how they lived? Can you think of anything similar to Hoovervilles in the United States today? If so, how are they different or similar to the Hoovervilles of the Great Depression?”
National Archives
Here students can access historical records, such as audio/video clips, images, maps, documents, and more, preserved by The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
The New Deal Network
The New Deal Network is an educational guide students and teachers can utilize to research the Great Depression of the 1930's.
more...less...
This website offers photographs, political cartoons, and texts (speeches, letters, and other historic documents from the New Deal period).
On the 'Grapes of Wrath' Trail, the Dust Bowl Still Resonates
National Geographic
PBS: Surviving the Dust Bowl
The story of the farmers who came to the Southern Plains of Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas dreaming of prosperity, and lived through ten years of drought, dust, disease and death.
Voices from the Dust Bowl: the Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection, 1940 to 1941
Voices from the Dust Bowl:
more...less...
The Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection is an online presentation of selections from a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting the everyday life of residents of Farm Security Administration (FSA) migrant work camps in central California in 1940 and 1941
Wessel's Living History Farm
Listen to people describe what life was like during the Dust Bowl.