Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Child Development and Education
What is the Theory of Education?
Education theory is the theory of the purpose, application and interpretation of education and learning. It's largely an umbrella term, being comprised of a number of theories, rather than a single explanation of how we learn, and how we should teach.
Warrior One Search
Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Science in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Science Online This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
eLibrary Science This link opens in a new window
Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
Books and eBooks
Adolescence in America by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2001-06-04
An authoritative, broad, and practical survey of the social, psychological, and physical development of American teenagers.
The Best Schools by
Call Number: PRO 370.1523 AR
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Contents: Academic achievement discourse -- Human development discourse -- Early childhood education programs: play -- Elementary schools: learning how the world works -- Metacognitive growth -- High schools: preparing to live independently in the real world.
Dr. Seuss by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1988-11-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Dr. Seuss.
Encyclopedia of American Education by
Call Number: R 370 UN
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Contains articles arranged alphabetically that provide information on educational topics from a wide variety of subject areas, including biographies of notable educators.
Higher-Order Thinking the Multiple Intelligences Way by
Call Number: PRO 370.1529 LA
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Huck's Raft by
Call Number: 305.23 MI
Publication Date: 2004-11-15
Presents a comprehensive history of American childhood from the sinful creatures early Puritans perceived them to be to the farms and factories of the nineteenth century and war years of the twentieth century and examines their development and influence on the nation.
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
Publication Date: 2004-10-25
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis. 2 volumes.
Sigmund Freud by
Call Number: B FREUD
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Discusses Dr. Freud's family background, childhood, education, and groundbreaking work as the pioneer of psychoanalysis treatment for mental health patients.
Multimedia service that provides teacher professional development and teacher resources across the curriculum
NOVA - PBS
Highest rated science series on television & the most watched documentary series on public television
Committed to making a positive impact on the lives of children through curriculum-based media
An extensive library of free digital media resources produced by public television, designed for classroom use and professional development
Online community for teachers, schools and home learners interested in sharing educationally focused instructional videos
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.
In-Text and Parenthetical Citations