Motion Picture Historical Accuracy - Yuknis - 2018 US History Research Paper - LibGuides at Watchung Hills Regional High School

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature Databases

ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas is an inherently fun yet authoritative database that deviates from the way in which social studies is usually taught by teaching history through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; transportation and travel…
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
The Daily Life through History database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research.
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library containing full-text archives from more than 1,700 academic journals dating back to the first published volume, as wells as thousands of monographs, books and primary sources relevant for education. JSTOR also provides free access to hundreds of thousands of articles in the public domain. Content covers the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire archive is full-text searchable and includes high-quality images. New titles and other materials are added regularly.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
American History surveys American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation’s rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture and thought as they tell one continuous and continuing story of America’s history.
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
Questia Schools This link opens in a new window
Questia School is the premier online library and research tool for high school students. Its collection of thousands of digital titles and productivity tools supports cross-curricular studies in standard and advanced high school-level courses.

With research tools and instruction integrated into 83,000 full-text digital books, and 8 million articles, Questia School helps students apply their research in meaningful and impactful ways.
Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Through eLibrary, users can find images, video, eBooks, and 100% full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. They can also find maps, transcripts, audio files, graphics, interactives, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, timelines, slideshows, editorially created research pages, and hand-selected websites. Publications are updated promptly, and thousands of new images are added every day.
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Knowledge Source® is a comprehensive database portal which is comprised of several distinct reference databases including SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter®, and SIRS® Renaissance®. It provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window

Multi-Cultural Databases

ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window

How Hollywood stereotyped the Native Americans

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

History Buffs: The Patriot

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

Movies in American History by Philip C. DiMare (Editor)
Call Number: R 791.43 MO
ISBN: 9781598842968
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Alphabetically arranged entries present details about a variety of American films created from the late nineteenth century to the present, exploring issues in cinema related to race, class, gender, and other key topics.
History Goes to the Movies by Joseph H. Roquemore
Call Number: R 791.43 RO
ISBN: 0385496788
Publication Date: 1999-11-09
American Life and Movies from the Ten Commandments to Twilight by Dan Elish; Daniel Benjamin
Call Number: 791.43 BE
ISBN: 9781608709212
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
"Provides a look at the history of film in America"
Bigger Than Blockbusters by James Roman
Call Number: R 791.43 RO
ISBN: 9780313339950
Publication Date: 2009-02-28
Profiles one hundred motion pictures from the twentieth century that influenced American culture, arranged chronologically, and provides synopsis, critic reviews, awards, availability, and other related topics.
The Columbia Companion to American History on Film by Peter C. Rollins (Editor)
Call Number: R 791.43658 CO
ISBN: 023111222X
Publication Date: 2004-03-24
History by Hollywood by Robert B. Toplin
Call Number: 791.43 TO
ISBN: 0252065360
Publication Date: 1996-07-01
Studies the way in which the makers of commercial movies have dealt with history, focusing on eight films about real people and real situations from America's past, including "Mississippi Burning," "JFK," "Bonnie and Clyde," and "Norma Rae."
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith Grant
Call Number: R 791.4303 GR (eBook)
ISBN: 9780028657912
Publication Date: 2006-12-15
Contains approximately two hundred alphabetically arranged entries that look at film as art, entertainment, and industry, covering film history, genres, studios, national cinemas, technological and industrial topics, cultural issues, and critical approaches; and includes sidebars which profile over 230 important figures in film history, selected filmographies, and photographs.
American Literature in Historical Context 1870-1920 by Tom Quirk & Gary Scharnhorst, editors in chief
Call Number: R 810.9 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 9780684314648
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Birth of a Nation- Examines the relationship between American history and literature between 1870 and 1920, presenting alphabetized articles on topics such as business and industry novels, Darwinism, feminism, immigration, and World War I.
Filmography of American History by Grant Tracey
Call Number: R 791.43 TR
ISBN: 0313313008
Publication Date: 2001-11-30
Profiles more than two hundred films which profile major events in American history, emphasizing immigrant, multicultural, and women-centered films which portray the fullness of the American experience.
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by John C. Tibbetts; James Michael Welsh
Call Number: R 791.436 TI
ISBN: 9780816054497
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Surveys film adaptations of over 300 novels, including summarizations of plots, major characters and themes, comparisons between movie and novel, etc.
Reel vs. Real by Frank Sanello
Call Number: 791.43 SA
ISBN: 0878332685
Publication Date: 2002-12-28
The Movie Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: R 791.43 MO
ISBN: 9781465437990
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Explores the history of motion pictures from 1902-2014.
Literary Themes for Students by Thomson Gale
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414404967
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
U. S. Immigration and Migration by Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780787675653
Publication Date: 2004-05-28
Irish Immigration. The almanac volumes tell of the economic, religious and political forces that compelled people to seek a better life in a new land. These same forces later inspired the migration of many Americans to other areas in mass movements such as the Westward Expansion; the rural to urban migration; the Great Migration of blacks in the early part of the 20th century; and the migration to the Sunbelt starting in the 1960s.

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.

Plagiarism Definition

Plagiarism is presenting someone else's work or ideas as your own, with or without their consent, by incorporating it into your work without full acknowledgement. All published and unpublished material, whether in manuscript, printed or electronic form, is covered under this definition.

"plagiarism, n." OED Online. Oxford University Press, December 2016. Web. 17 December 2016.

Are You Plagiarizing?

Web Sites

"Gangs of New York": Fact vs. Fiction
National Geographic.
Fact checking the movies: Announcing Truth Teller for Trailers
The Washington Post
Hollywood vs. History
MOVIES BASED ON TRUE STORIES
Native Americans and Their Portrayal in the Western Film Genre
American Cinema Class- Blogspot.
Text, lies and celluloid: does a film take a book to the end of its lifespan or revitalize it?
This Magazine
Top 10 Historically Misleading Films
Time Magazine. The Patriot makes the list.
What Do Students Learn from Historical Feature Films?
Teaching History .org.
What duty to historical accuracy does a film have?
Daily Kos.
Who Cares if Movies Are Historically Accurate?
The Forward Association, Inc.

Is the new 'Lincoln' film historically accurate

Research Tools

EasyBib
Sign up using your school email address.
Must use coupon code: watchhsnj

Log-in for Existing EasyBib Account
https://edu.easybib.com/auth/login

NoodleTools

EasyBib Instructions
A Step by Step guide for creating notecards and works cited pages in Easybib.

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.

Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliographies
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
EasyBib: Annotated Bibliographies

MLA Citation Guides

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

EasyBib MLA Citation Guide

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

Yuknis - 2018 US History Research Paper: Motion Picture Historical Accuracy

Historical Accuracy of Motion Pictures