LibGuides: Constitutional Law: Social Studies Databases

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Issues and Current Events Databases

ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.

Social Studies Databases

Databases contain articles taken from books, encyclopedias, magazines, websites, newscasts and other information formats. The databases offer you current, accurate, unbiased, reviewed information. Most databases give you citation information in MLA format and others.

An Article Database

Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the citations, abstracts or brief summaries, and full text of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. An example of an article database that is available through the WHRHS Library is EBSCOhost.

Subject Oriented Databases

Rather than build one massive, centralized database, most companies are building numerous subject-oriented databases. Examples of a few subject databases at WHRHS are Opposing Viewpoints, A-Z World Cultures and Global Issues in Context.

Use Databases

Use an article database when your topic is contemporary and current information is needed.

Check the library for subject databases that are relevant to your topic. For ex., Science in Context would be a good choice for the topic "What are the effects of acid rain?"

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window

Miscellaneous Social Studies Databases

Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
ABC-CLIO: World Folklore and Forklife
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife is an invaluable multicultural and multidisciplinary resource that offers an exciting, multimedia gateway to social history and social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, it bridges the gap between past and present.

Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region, or country. Supporting the curriculum in the areas of world cultures, history, arts, literature, and language, this expansive database is the only electronic resource broad enough to provide both folk material and the textual content needed to understand it.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window The perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries… Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.

Newspaper Databases

NEWSBANK - America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Research America's History Through The News.
NEWSBANK- World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Multi-Cultural Databases

Asian American Experience This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO’s newest curriculum and research database brings awareness and context to the study of Asian American history.
Bring Asian American history to life through rich primary source narratives, expert historical reference, and inquiry-driven student activities. Supporting features for students and educators make The Asian American Experience an all-in-one solution for more engaging and inclusive history curriculum.
ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
Highlights
Contains more than 10,000 authoritative reference articles, including biographies and discussions of important places, events, movements, ideas, artifacts, and organizations
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Country and Culture

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Country Watch Student Edition This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Highlights: Contains profiles of nearly 200 countries, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, providing a portrait of each nation's geographical features, recent and early history, culture, politics, and economy, plus more than 600 political and topographical maps to situate readers
FactsOnFile: World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new window
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
ABC-CLIO: World Religions Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window
The advisor for this collection is J. Gordon Melton, PhD, author of more than 40 scholarly texts and reference books on religion, and a Distinguished Senior Fellow of the Institute for Religious Studies at Baylor University in Texas.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975