Skip to main content

AP Language - Book Talk: Home

Book Talk

“Book Talk” Presentation

The AP English Language and Composition course places a strong emphasis on nonfiction texts. It is also assumed that you enjoy reading if you are enrolled in this course. Therefore, you will critically read and reflect on a nonfiction text as the culmination of this course. Nonfiction includes the following genres: autobiography, biography, memoir, historical accounts, and all other accounts that are true.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature Databases

GALE Custom Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

History & Miscellaneous Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books

eBooks

Excellent Writing

What is "excellent writing" for non-fiction?  Is it the same is fiction, or is it something else?  When the committee looks at books, one of the things they look for is a good story.  The story can be about a person (biography/memoir), a place, a thing or an event - does it read like a fiction book?  Are you interested and eager to find out what happens next?  

  • is there a narrative arc?
  • how does the author create a sense of urgency/investment?
  • if this were a fiction book, what genre would it be? (suspense?  romance? mystery?)
  • do you feel you get to know the "characters"?



 

The New York Times Best Seller Lists

 

 

Purdue Owl - Creative Nonfiction: An Overview

Scholarly Journal Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search
Google Book Search

Microsoft Academic

Text Dependent Analysis: Nonfiction

NoodleTools

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

 This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.