Skip to main content

American Authors: Home

Overview

 There is no one way to read a text; rather, there are many, each one informed by different principles and criteria, some historical, some mental, and others more political. The goal of these types of lenses is to help readers explore a work a literature more deeply and to appreciate it as a “multilayered construct of meaning,” as a result of literary criticism, readers are able to recognize the “social and cultural implications” of a work (Kaston et al).  ‚Äč

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Databases

eBooks

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

 This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better. 

Research Tools

In-Text and Parenthetical Citations