Skip to main content

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn: Home

Overview

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

In March 1885, the Library Committee in Concord, Massachusetts, reached a decision: Mark Twain's new book
--Adventures of Huckleberry Finn--would be banned from the town's public library. The committee was appalled by the author's use of bad grammar and rough language.

This year marks the 125th anniversary of the publication of Huckleberry Finn in the U.S., and the book is still selling--more than 20 million copies worldwide to date--and still generating controversy. Many scholars consider it a classic of American literature. But it's also been one of the most banned books in the U.S, with some critics calling its depiction of Jim, the Missouri slave who befriends Huck, racist.

1 Bilyeu, Suzanne. "MARK TWAIN'S BAD BOY." New York Times Upfront. 01 Mar. 2010: 18. eLibrary. Web. 18 Jan. 2017.

Archive, Hulton. Cover Of 'Huckleberry Finn'. Getty Images. 01 Jan. 1884. eLibrary. Web. 18 Jan. 2017.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Databases

Social Studies Databases

The Plagiarism Spectrum

Video SparkNotes: Mark Twain's Adventures of Huckleberry Finn summary

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books

eBooks

The Adventures Of Huck Finn Trailer

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Web Sites

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

 This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better. 

Research Tools

In-Text and Parenthetical Citations