Home - Goodson - Jane Eyre - LibGuides at Watchung Hills Regional High School

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

DAILY LIFE THROUGH HISTORY

ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window The Daily Life through History database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research.
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Study Center This link opens in a new window History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitised primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts. History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Social Studies & Biography Databases

Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414448701
Publication Date: 2009-03-25
Bronte, Charlotte
Critical Survey of Long Fiction by Carl Rollyson; Carl E. Rollyson; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: R 809.3
ISBN: 9781587655357
Publication Date: 2010-01-25
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Feminist in Literature by Janet Witalec; Jessica Bomarito
Call Number: R 809.89287 (eBook available)
ISBN: 0787675733
Publication Date: 2004-11-05
Brontë, Charlotte: Introduction
British and Irish Literature and Its Times by Joyce Moss; David Galens
Call Number: R 809 MO
ISBN: 0787637297
Publication Date: 2001-05-14
This volume contains introductions and historical background to numerous British and Irish literary works.
Jane Eyre by Katie R. Peel (General Editor)
Call Number: 823 JA
ISBN: 9781619252189
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Presents a variety of new essays on Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre.
Charlotte Bronte
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0805745130
Publication Date: 1997-08-20
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Charlotte Bronte.
Europe, 1789-1914 by John Merriman (Editor); Jay Winter (Editor)
Call Number: R 940.2 EU (eBook)
ISBN: 0684313596
Publication Date: 2006-08-13
A five-volume survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Alphabetically arranged entries cover the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.
Victorian England by Gail B. Stewart
Call Number: 942.081 ST
ISBN: 9781601526021
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Provides an introduction to the Victorian era.
Daily Life of Victorian Women by Lydia Murdoch
Call Number: 305.4 MU
ISBN: 9780313384981
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Explores the complexities of the lived experiences of Victorian women in the home, the workplace, and the empire as well as the ideals of womanhood and femininity that developed during the 19th century.
Voices of Victorian England by Ph.D., John A Wagner
Call Number: R 941.081 VO
ISBN: 9780313386886
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Women of Victorian England by Clarice Swisher
Call Number: 941.081 SW
ISBN: 1590185714
Publication Date: 2004-10-15
This book discusses the role of women in Victorian England.
Daily Life in Victorian England by Sally Mitchell
Call Number: 941.081 MI
ISBN: 0313294674
Publication Date: 1996-09-24
Recreates daily life in Victorian England, from urban slums to the estates of high society, with information on the physical, social, economic, and legal aspects of the era, from 1837 to 1901.
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era by James E. Adams; Tom Pendergast; Sara Pendergast
Call Number: R 941.081 EN
ISBN: 0717258602
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
A four-volume encyclopedia containing articles that present the important people, events, themes, issues, and topics of the British-dominated world during the reign of Queen Victoria.
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Peter N. Stearns, ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0684805820
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.
Literary Themes for Students - Race and Prejudice (vol 1). by Thomson Gale (Created by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414404332
Publication Date: 2007-06-29
Race and Prejudice in British Literature

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Jane Eyre - Crash Course

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Web Sites

The Victorian Web
The Victorian Web, linking scholarship, teaching & learning since 1994.
BBC - Jane Eyre- Bitesize Learning Guide
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory- Feminism
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
The Religious Right
ABOUT.com: about news
University of Oxford: Feminist Approaches to Literature
The 'Feminist Approaches to Literature' essay presents a basic introduction to feminist literary theory, and a compendium of Great Writers Inspire resources that can be approached from a feminist perspective.
Romantic Circles
Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture.
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789 - 1832
The British Women Romantic Poets Project is a digital initiative of the UC Davis General Library.
Romanticism - Internet History Sourcebooks
Fordham University
AN INTRODUCTION TO VICTORIAN ENGLAND (1837–1901)
English Heritage cares for over 400 historic buildings, monuments and sites - from world-famous prehistoric sites to grand medieval castles, from Roman forts on the edges of the empire to a Cold War bunker. Through these, we bring the story of England to life for over 10 million people each year.
more...less...
We are a charity, no. 1140351, and a company, no. 07447221, registered in England.
BBC-Victorians
Industrial revolution powered Britain to global pre-eminence and initiated social reform.
Norton Anthology of English Literature
The Victorian Age: Topics
History in Focus- The Victorian Era
This first issue of History in Focus looks at Victorian history and the resources available to study it.

THEMES

MLA Citation Guides

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

EasyBib MLA Citation Guide

Themes

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.

Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliographies
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
EasyBib: Annotated Bibliographies

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

Goodson - Jane Eyre: Home

Overview

Jane Eyre