Skip to main content

Arab Spring: Home

Library resources available to research countries who are part of the Arab Spring.

Arab Spring

Arab Spring

Those who said that "winds of change" were blowing through the Middle East were right. The past two months [January and February 2011] have seen a series of stunning political shifts that began with Tunisians' ousting of their former president in mid-January. Tunis and Cairo's cries, first of...anger and then of jubilation, have been beamed into living rooms across the region and are now reverberating along the North African coast, through the Gulf, and up into the Levant.....Tunisia was the one that started it all. When Mohammed Bouazizi, a Tunisian street vendor, set himself on fire in December [2010], it's unlikely he intended to spark a regional upheaval.

1  Correspondent, Ariel Zirulnick. "Countries in the Middle East where the 'winds of change' are blowing." Christian Science Monitor. 16 Feb. 2011 eLibrary. Web. 25 Feb. 2017.

An Egyptian anti-government demonstrator holds his national flag.... Getty Images. 06 Feb. 2011. eLibrary. Web. 25 Feb. 2017.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Country and Culture

World History Databases

Newspaper Databases

Dalia Mogahed: The attitudes that sparked Arab Spring

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books and eBooks

eBooks

NPR: Arab Spring: A Year of Revolution

Database Searching Tips

  •     It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
  •     COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.
  •     USE a database's sorting features for better results.
  •     Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

 

  •     Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
  •     Don’t forget to CITE your sources!  Most databases will have a citation tools” feature – use it!

CREDO SOURCE

War & Genocide Databases

Web Sites

Research Tools