LibGuides: PROPAGANDA: Home

Propaganda Critic

PROPAGANDA CRITIC

Propaganda Critic is dedicated to promoting techniques of propaganda analysis among critically minded citizens.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Databases

EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

Literature & Biography Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

What Is Propaganda? by Matt Doeden
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781541555761
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Introduce readers to the concept of propaganda by analyzing examples from the past and present. This approachable overview includes tips on how to spot propaganda and how to respond to fake news
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America by Martin J. Manning (Editor); Clarence R. Wyatt (Editor)
Call Number: R 303.37 EN
ISBN: 9781598842272
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Comic Art Propaganda by Fredrik Stromberg; Peter Kuper
Call Number: R 741.5 STROM
ISBN: 9780312596798
Publication Date: 2010-07-20
Comic Art Propaganda: A Graphic History is a fascinating visual history of some of the most outrageous, and unbelievable and politically charged comics ever published.
Weapons of Democracy by Jonathan Auerbach
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781421417363
Publication Date: 2015-09-29
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion by David Culbert; David Welch; Nicholas J. Cull
Call Number: R 303.375 CU
ISBN: 1576078205
Publication Date: 2003-07-15
Prop art : over 100 contemporary political posters by Gary Yanker
Call Number: 741.67 YA
ISBN: 9780821204269
Publication Date: 1972
Examines the recent political poster as a vehicle for conveying the propaganda message, including basic elements of political graphic design, election campaigns 1967-1971, election campaign issues, major political events, and major political themes.
Totalitarianism by Linda Cernak
Call Number: 320.53 CE
ISBN: 9781617147951
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
-- The exchange of power -- Cults of personality, propaganda, and the secret police --
A discussion of totalitarianism that defines what it is and examines its history, principles, ideals, leaders, and political, economic, and social implications.
The Literature of Propaganda by Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: R 809.933 LI (eBook)
ISBN: 9781558628588
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Contains 300 entries that explore literary works that deal with propaganda. The set includes a wide variety of genres and has an international scope. It explores the works of authors shaped by a variety of political, social, and economic movements, and places each work in its historical context. Each entry includes an overview of the work, historical context, primary themes and style, and critical discussion.

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.

CREDO Source eBooks
Browse the titles and videos included in your library's collection.

TEDed- How false news can spread - Noah Tavlin

Propaganda Examples

Canva - 50 powerful examples of visual propaganda and the meanings behind them
World War I Posters
Library of Congress
Posters: Artist Posters
Search by type of Propaganda, e.g. political, soviet, WWII, etc.
These Soviet propaganda posters once evoked heroism, pride and anxiety
PBS NewsHour
Advertisements Through the Decades
Examples of advertisements through the 1940s, 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond.
Powers of Persuasion: Poster Art from WW II
National Archives
Washington State University- Propaganda Posters
The 525 items in this collection comprise a Propaganda Poster collection primarily consisting of images from 1914-1945, the start of World War I to the end of World War II
National Geographic- Inside America’s Shocking WWII Propaganda Machine
More than half a century ago, the U.S. used provocative posters and fake news to influence its soldiers, its citizens, and even its enemies.
The Duke Digital Repository Ad* Access
What Is Propaganda?
American Historical Association
Artifacts gallery from the United States Holocaust Museum
This website has a 5 page interactive "Artifacts Gallery" of German propaganda from 1919-1948. Explore the Nazi's sophisticated propaganda campaign.
Hoover Institution. Post-Modern Propaganda: The Gatekeepers Are Gone by Ralph Peters Friday, February 23, 2018

7 Types of Propaganda

(click on the Student Resources Link for further information on each technique).

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback

Fact Check & Issue Web Sites

All Sides
Don't be fooled by bias. Think for yourself.
See news and issues from multiple perspectives, discuss like adults.
Debate.org Debate.org is a free online community where intelligent minds from around the world come to debate online and read the opinions of others. Research today’s most controversial debate topics and cast your vote on our opinion polls.
FactCheck.org
Hoax-Slayer
Similar to Snopes but tighter in scope, Hoax-Slayer focuses on email hoaxes, identity theft scams and spam.
more...less...
Debunking hoaxes and exposing scams since 2003!
iDebate database
Infotopia: Browse Social Science Issues Infotopia is an academic search engine accessing only trusted websites previously selected by librarians, teachers and library and educational consortia.
iSideWith.com
See where voters on polling on the most popular Domestic Policy issues of 2018.
JustFacts: Your source for reliable research The mission of Just Facts is to research and publish verifiable facts about the leading public policy issues of our time. To accomplish this with impartiality and excellence, we abide by Standards of Credibility to determine what constitutes a credible fact and what does not.
Parallax News
Parallax News is a free email brief. It’s the quickest way to understand a divided world.
PolitiFact
PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
ProCon.org
THE LEADING SOURCE FOR PROS & CONS OF CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES
Public Agenda
Founded in 1975, Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization based in New York City.
more...less...
By elevating a diversity of voices, forging common ground and improving dialogue and collaboration among leaders and communities, Public Agenda fuels progress on critical issues, including education, health care and community engagement.
SNOPES
One of the oldest debunking sites on the Internet, Snopes.com focuses on urban legends, news stories and memes. the also cite their sources at the end of each debunking.
World Press
News and Views From Around the World
more...less...
Founded by Teri Schure in January 1997, Worldpress.org is a nonpartisan magazine whose mission is to foster the international exchange of perspectives and information.
FlackCheck.org
Headquartered at the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, FlackCheck.org is the political literacy companion site to the award-winning FactCheck.org. The site provides resources designed to help viewers recognize flaws in arguments in general and political ads in particular. Video resources point out deception and incivility in political rhetoric.
Washington Post Fact Checker
Fact Checker newsletter. Count the pinocchios: A weekly review of what's true, false or in-between in politics, from The Post's famous fact-checking team

Mind Over Media 2018

Mind Over Media
The Mind Over Media platform enables users to share examples of contemporary propaganda for educational purposes using crowdsourcing.
more...less...
Anyone can upload an example of propaganda and comment on it, considering its potential impact on public opinion.