LibGuides: Gottlieb: CELEBRITY INFLUENCE: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

DATABASES

ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas is an inherently fun yet authoritative database that deviates from the way in which social studies is usually taught by teaching history through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; transportation and travel…
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.

Newspaper Databases

NEWSBANK - America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Research America's History Through The News.
NEWSBANK- World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Find a Book!

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.
What Everyone Needs To Know This link opens in a new window The perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries… Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.
OMNIGRAPHICS Health Reference Library This link opens in a new window Many individuals are deeply concerned about their health and how to deal with medical concerns. They want information to help them take control of their health, but how do they decide which information is reliable and which sources to trust? Omnigraphics’ Health Reference Library is an invaluable medical resource that will give users the confidence they need to confront this challenge.

CREDO Source eBooks
Browse the titles and videos included in your library's collection.

Books and eBooks

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: 973.9 (eBook)
ISBN: 9781558628472
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Celebrity
Icons of American Popular Culture by Robert C. Cottrell
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765622990
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
This appealing book fills in another dimension by tracing the evolution of American popular culture over the past two centuries. In a lengthy chronology of landmark events, this title provides an intriguing window on the social, economic, and political history of our democracy from the antebellum period to the present.

Scholarly Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.