Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.
What Everyone Needs To KnowThis link opens in a new windowThe perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries…
Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.
OMNIGRAPHICS Health Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowMany individuals are deeply concerned about their health and how to deal with medical concerns. They want information to help them take control of their health, but how do they decide which information is reliable and which sources to trust? Omnigraphics’ Health Reference Library is an invaluable medical resource that will give users the confidence they need to confront this challenge.
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
ABC-CLIO’s newest curriculum and research database brings awareness and context to the study of Asian American history.
Bring Asian American history to life through rich primary source narratives, expert historical reference, and inquiry-driven student activities. Supporting features for students and educators make The Asian American Experience an all-in-one solution for more engaging and inclusive history curriculum.
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
Highlights
Contains more than 10,000 authoritative reference articles, including biographies and discussions of important places, events, movements, ideas, artifacts, and organizations
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife is an invaluable multicultural and multidisciplinary resource that offers an exciting, multimedia gateway to social history and social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, it bridges the gap between past and present.
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region, or country. Supporting the curriculum in the areas of world cultures, history, arts, literature, and language, this expansive database is the only electronic resource broad enough to provide both folk material and the textual content needed to understand it.
Highlights: Contains profiles of nearly 200 countries, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, providing a portrait of each nation's geographical features, recent and early history, culture, politics, and economy, plus more than 600 political and topographical maps to situate readers
The advisor for this collection is J. Gordon Melton, PhD, author of more than 40 scholarly texts and reference books on religion, and a Distinguished Senior Fellow of the Institute for Religious Studies at Baylor University in Texas.
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
Gale In Context- High SchoolThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Gain a deeper understanding of literary texts through a wide variety of contextual resources like videos, images, infographics, eBooks and more.
Designed with high school students in mind, Gale In Context: Literature provides context for literary classics and diverse new texts by using a robust multimedia collection of videos, images, infographics, eBooks, and more. This high-interest content is available in the user-friendly Gale In Context platform, complete with accessibility and navigation tools that ensure a seamless user experience. Spark greater interest in literature and inspire more-compelling class discussions when you connect your students to Literature.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
What Everyone Needs To KnowThis link opens in a new windowThe perfect primer for complex current event issues and countries…
Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.
EBSCOhostThis link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
