Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.
Issues and Current Events Databases
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and SocietyThis link opens in a new windowIssues: Understanding Controversy and Society brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Gale In Context- High SchoolThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
Gale: Global Issues in ContextThis link opens in a new windowEmpower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
JSTOR
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library containing full-text archives from more than 1,700 academic journals dating back to the first published volume, as wells as thousands of monographs, books and primary sources relevant for education. JSTOR also provides free access to hundreds of thousands of articles in the public domain. Content covers the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire archive is full-text searchable and includes high-quality images. New titles and other materials are added regularly.
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Available as an online resource since November 2020, WENTKs are written by leading experts in their fields and provide, in a straight-forward question-and-answer format, insight in such a way that students and scholars alike can stay up-to-date on the most important topics leading the discussion today in politics, health, global affairs, and more.
Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic illuminates the historical and contemporary practices and tribulations of more than 150 Native American tribes from all regions of North America.
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
Gale In Context- High SchoolThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
Highlights
Contains more than 10,000 authoritative reference articles, including biographies and discussions of important places, events, movements, ideas, artifacts, and organizations
FactsOnFile: Modern World History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCovers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
