Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through HistoryThe Daily Life through History database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research.
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: Biography in ContextBiography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge SourceSIRS® Knowledge Source® is a comprehensive database portal which is comprised of several distinct reference databases including SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter®, and SIRS® Renaissance®. It provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and SocietyIssues: Understanding Controversy and Society brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy
Gale: Global Issues in ContextEmpower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
An ten volume set that profiles major short-story writers throughout history and the world, including analyses of their significant individual stories or collections; discusses short fiction in overview essays by country, story genre, and historical period; and provides valuable resource material.
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Provides an in-depth critical introduction to the short stories of Kate Chopin. Includes a detailed analyses of every significant story, biographical information, a chronology of the artist's life and works, and a representative selection of critical responses.
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
ABC-CLIO eBooks CollectionThe ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
The source of the text varies -- existing ascii texts from Project Gutenberg, The Electronic Text Center at The University of Virginia, the archive at Virginia Tech, and new scans of various sources. In time, all texts will be corrected to The Library of America edition of Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and Tales.