Skip to main content

Maus 1 - Holocaust Research paper: Home

Library resources for Holocaust research projects

Maus 1 - Holocaust Research paper

 

Most of us associate comics with superheroes or the Sunday funnies. We expect flashy graphics and simple dialogue. We expect to escape from reality in a fantasy world chock-full of buff action heroes and busty women or loveable cartoon animals.

But the Holocaust?

As a story about the Holocaust in comic form, Art Spiegelman’s Maus accomplishes the seemingly impossible. Maus tells the story of Spiegelman’s father, Vladek, and his experience as a Polish Jew during the Holocaust. Running parallel to the story is the story of Spiegelman’s interactions with his father as he visits his father on numerous occasions to record his memories. All of the characters are represented as animals: the Jews are mice, the Germans are cats, the Americans are dogs, and so on. Within this seemingly simplistic framework, Maus confronts the terrifying reality of the Holocaust, the systematic genocide of millions and millions of Jews carried out by the Nazi regime during World War II.

Footnote:

1 Shmoop Editorial Team. "Maus: A Survivor's Tale." Shmoop. Shmoop University, Inc., 11 Nov. 2008. Web. 10 Dec. 2016.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

War & Genocide Databases

Social Studies Databases

Literature Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books and eBooks

eBooks

What are Databases

CREDO SOURCE

ART FROM THE HOLOCAUST

Man's Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl

What's So Special about Art Spiegelman's Maus

NoodleTools

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975