Home - Hodge - World History Research - LibGuides at Watchung Hills Regional High School

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window

Issues and Current Events Databases

Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Country and Culture

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams from ProQuest goes beyond basic facts and figures on more than 200 countries, with up-to-date reports detailing daily life and culture, history, customs and lifestyle from an insider's perspective.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Country Watch Student Edition This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new window
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
ABC-CLIO: World Religions Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window
The advisor for this collection is J. Gordon Melton, PhD, author of more than 40 scholarly texts and reference books on religion, and a Distinguished Senior Fellow of the Institute for Religious Studies at Baylor University in Texas.

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
History Study Center This link opens in a new window

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

The Britannica Guide to Political and Social Movements That Changed the Modern World by Heather M. Campbell Discusses the people, movements, and events that changed the modern world politically and socially, covering topics such as liberalism, conservatism, socialism, anarchism, nationalism, communism, religio-political movements, and democratic movements of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries
Call Number: 322.4 BR
ISBN: 9781615300167
Publication Date: 2009-12-20
Terrorism by Michelle E. Houle (Editor)
Call Number: 303.625 TE
ISBN: 0737719095
Publication Date: 2004-11-12
racing, and secondary sources providing commentaries on the issue of terrorism to bring about change.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by Leslie Alan Horvitz; Christopher Catherwood Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide, Revised Edition examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. With more than 500 entries, this two-volume A-to-Z encyclopedia covers a wide range of relevant topics, including human rights, war criminals, war crimes, examples of genocide, international organizations and international law concerning war crimes, and much more. This revised edition also includes updated information on recent human rights and war crime trials. The primary resources section contains documents that are vital to understanding this subject.
Call Number: R 364.1138
ISBN: 9780816060016
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Dinah L. Shelton
Call Number: R 304.663 EN
ISBN: 0028658477
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
World Clothing and Fashion by Mary Ellen Snodgrass This interdisciplinary work brings a new perspective to the diverse and colorful global history of human attire from prehistoric times to modern day. It illuminates dress as a reflection of social status, aesthetic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing, covering the evolution of clothing styles in diverse historical periods, regions, and countries, as well as the diversification of materials, production methods, and commerce.
Call Number: R 391.009 SN (eBook)
ISBN: 9780765683007
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
New Encyclopedia of Africa by John Middleton
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780684315577
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
Colonialism by East River Books Staff (Editor); Melvin E. Page (Editor); James D. Ciment (Editor); Penny Sonnenberg
Call Number: R 325.3 CO (eBook)
ISBN: 1576073351
Publication Date: 2003-09-16
Entries explore how colonialism affects the politics, economies, cultures, and societies of both the colonizers and the colonized.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450 by Macmillan Reference U. S. A. Staff
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028660851
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Web Sites

ABYZ News Links "ABYZ News Links is a portal to online news sources from around the world. It is primarily composed of newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, Internet services, magazines, and press agencies".
Al Jazeera
The English language site for the Arabic-language TV channel.
AP - The Associated Press
Perhaps the best known news agency, and one of the oldest -- started in 1846.
BBC News
CBC News
The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation international news online.
CNN World News
Google News
News stories from over 4,500 sources.
Newseum: World's Most Interactive Museum
The Newseum is both a physical museum and an online resource for news information
more...less...
Recommended features:
Today's Front Pages from over 500 U.S. and world newspapers.
Try the Map viewing option.
NewsNow
NewsNow.co.uk is the UK's first and leading home-grown and independent news aggregation service.
UN News Centre
Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.
The WorldNews (WN) Network The WorldNews (WN) Network, founded in 1995 & launched online in 1998. Now it has almost 300 million indexed articles on a vast range of subjects
Yahoo News
News from around the world.

The Chicago Manual of Style

www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition

Research Tools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
EasyBib This link opens in a new window
Sign up using your school email address.
Must use coupon code: watchhsnj

Log-in for Existing EasyBib Account
https://edu.easybib.com/auth/login

EasyBib Instructions
A Step by Step guide for creating notecards and works cited pages in Easybib.

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Multi-Search This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

Hodge - World History Research: Home

COLONIALISM AND IMPERIALISM