LibGuides: World War II: Web Sites & Primary Sources

World War II - Primary Sources

After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor
Library of Congress
more...less...
After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States.
Great Plains During World War II
The Great Plains during World War II explores civilian and military life in the region from Germany’s invasion of Poland in September 1939 to the surrender of Japan in August 1945.
Historic Government Publications from World War II
The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.
Normandy Invasion WORLD WAR II
Ration Coupons on the Home Front, 1942-1945
The World War II Ration Coupon collection consists of ration coupons, stickers and certificates for tires, bicycles, typewriters, sugar, shoes, fuel oil, gasoline, and food which were issued by the Office of Price Administration from 1942-1945.
World War Two Collection
These materials focus on WWII and the immediate postwar period of the late 1940s. In addition to materials created during the time period, materials may include modern studies and commemorative works about the era.
World War II - Documents
Illinois Digital Archives
World War II Poster Collection at Northwestern University Library
Fordham International Sourcebook - World War II
Collection of resources and historical texts. Wide array of subjects from around the world. Searchable and browseable.
The Normandy Invasion
U.S. ARMY CENTER OF MILITARY HISTORY
Franklin D Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
FRANKLIN provides free and open access to the digitized collections of the Roosevelt Library—to everyone, anywhere in the world.
World War II Photos
The U.S. National Archives and
Records Administration
WWW-VL: HISTORY: MILITARY HISTORY
The National World War II Museum
National World War II Digital Collection
See World War II through the lens of an African American soldier
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex.
“home front” Everyday Life
Photos with summaries about a variety of topics including every day life and the home front..

Atomic Bomb - Primary Sources

442nd Regimental Combat Team
Archive/Research Documents
The Harry S. Truman Library and Museum
The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb
Ground Zero 1945 - Pictures by Atomic Bomb Survivors
These drawings and paintings by Japanese survivors of the atomic bomb were created more than a quarter century after the bombs fell on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August 1945. They are provided by the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum.
Hanford
Memories of Hiroshima and Nagasaki--Messages from Hibakusha (atomic bomb survivors)
Manhattan Project Resources
U.S. Department of Energy
Voices of the Manhattan Project
"Voices of the Manhattan Project" is a joint project by the Atomic Heritage Foundation and the Los Alamos Historical Society
Voices of the survivors from Hiroshima and Nagasaki
Listen to the voices of the hibakusha (A-bomb victims) on the Internet.
The hibakusha vividly tell what happened in Hiroshima and Nagasaki.
The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II A Collection of Primary Sources
National Security Archive
Trinity Atomic Web Site
Large collection of documents related to the Trinity project and later testing of nuclear weapons. Includes government documents, photographs, data charts, and video footage.
A Tale of Two Cities
US War Department footage of the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

Primary sources are materials that contain firsthand evidence of events, usually recorded by someone who participated in, witnessed, or lived through the event.

The following are commonly considered primary sources:

Diaries, letters, personal papers, autobiographies
Photographs or original video tapes or television advertisements
Interviews and transcripts
Newspaper accounts
Government records
Historical records
Statutes, regulations, by-laws, case law and administrative rulings
Statistical data
Artistic or creative works (poems, paintings, sculpture, etc.)

Secondary sources are works that are not original primary sources, but documents which offer an analysis, interpretation, or evaluation of information gathered from primary sources. For example, books critiquing Shakespeare's plays or a product review are secondary sources.

The following are commonly considered secondary sources:

Biographies
Criticisms
Dissertations
Editorials and reviews
Journal/Magazine articles providing analysis, interpretation, or evaluation
Newspaper accounts that report various sources of information

World War II - WEBSITES

The National WWII Museum
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Information for Students
BBC Online: World War II
Contains general as well as specific information on WWII. Features audio recordings, galleries and animated maps and timelines.
Pearl Harbor History.org
Pearl Harbor History
Military Resources: World War II
Links to a number of online resources, from the National Archives.
Pearl Harbor Raid
Descriptions and photos from the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.
PBS - THE WAR
The wealth of themes explored in THE WAR offer an extraordinary educational opportunity for your classroom.
World War II
Portal for WWII videos and articles
BLACKPAST
MILITARY CONFLICT – WORLD WAR II
Universal Newsreels
"In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week.
FedFlix
Welcome to FedFlix. Here we feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.
World War II Database
The World War II Database is founded and managed by C. Peter Chen of Lava Development, LLC. The goal of this site is two fold. First, it is aiming to offer interesting and useful information about WW2. Second, it is to showcase Lava's technical capabilities.

World War II: Web Sites & Primary Sources

Primary Sources- a Close Reading

Primary Source

World War II - Primary Sources

Atomic Bomb - Primary Sources

Primary v. Secondary Sources

World War II - WEBSITES

What is a Primary Source?