Home - Battiloro - Into the Wild - LibGuides at Watchung Hills Regional High School

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

BIOGRAPHY InCONTEXT

History & Miscellaneous Databases

ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas is an inherently fun yet authoritative database that deviates from the way in which social studies is usually taught by teaching history through books and literature; clothing, fashion, and appearance; film; food and drink; music; sports; technology and media; transportation and travel…
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
FactsOnFile This link opens in a new window
This is the main page for the Infobase databases. It contains 13 databases that provide a wide range of resources, including full-text articles, biographies, primary source documents, images, videos, maps, timelines, charts, diagrams, and news articles.

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Multi-Search This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books

Wildness in Jack London's the Call of the Wild by Gary Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780737770704
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of writer and mountain climber, Jon Krakauer.
Rebels and Renegades by Neil A. Hamilton
Call Number: R 303.484 HA
ISBN: 041593639X
Publication Date: 2002-10-11
Encyclopedia of World Biography Supplement by Thomson Gale (Created by)
Call Number: R 920 EN (eBook)
ISBN: 9781414418926
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms by Galè
Call Number: R 306.0973 BO (eBook)
ISBN: 1414411650
Publication Date: 2012-05-24
Beatniks and the Beat Movement
Ralph Waldo Emerson by Donald Yannella
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0805773444
Publication Date: 1982-06-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Ralph Waldo Emerson.
American Literature in Historical Context 1820-70 by Tom Quirk; Gary Scharnhorst
Call Number: R 810.9 AM
ISBN: 9780684314600
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Nature (Emerson)
Nature and the Environment by Scott Slovic (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: 810.936 NA (eBook)
ISBN: 9781429837385
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Edward Snowden by Gerry Boehme
Call Number: 342.73 SPY
ISBN: 9781502626738
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
American Countercultures by Gina Misiroglu
Call Number: R 306.1 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 9780765680600
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Bloom's Literary Themes by Harold Bloom; Blake Hobby (Editor)
Call Number: 809.933 AL
ISBN: 9780791097984
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Reading the Original: Alienation, Writing, and Labor in 'Bartleby, the Scrivener'.

Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations
Current Topics from Salem Press

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner and Erick D. Langer
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780684312705
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Guevara, Ernesto "Che" (1928–1967)
Culture Wars in America by Roger Chapman; James Ciment
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765683021
Publication Date: 2010-08-10
WikiLeaks
Internet activist Julian Assange
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765682499
Publication Date: 2013

eBooks

Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.

Top 10 Most Famous Modern Day Outlaws

Google Scholar

Microsoft Academic

Microsoft Academic
Research more, search less

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.