LibGuides: Gottlieb- AP English Research Paper: Huckleberry Finn

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window

Social Studies Databases

ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Through eLibrary, users can find images, video, eBooks, and 100% full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. They can also find maps, transcripts, audio files, graphics, interactives, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, timelines, slideshows, editorially created research pages, and hand-selected websites. Publications are updated promptly, and thousands of new images are added every day.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitised primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts. History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.
ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
The African American Experience: The American Mosaic provides a comprehensive survey of African American history as its heartbreaking struggles, major movements—political, social, artistic, and literary—and most notable events and legislative reform. Featuring articles and essays from African American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the experience of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including the influence of the black community on popular culture and the aspirations of African Americans as expressed, for example, through the campaign of hope on which Barack Obama ran in 2008.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window

The Plagiarism Spectrum

Video SparkNotes: Mark Twain's Adventures of Huckleberry Finn summary

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books

Critical Insights by Kent R. Rasmussen (Editor)
Call Number: 813.4 HU (eBook)
ISBN: 9781682171226
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
A collection of critical essays on Mark Twain's "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn".
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by David E. Sloane
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0805779639
Publication Date: 1988-08-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the literary work Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, as well as its importance and critical reception. Includes a chronology of the life and works of the author.
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by Jennifer McClinton-Temple
Call Number: R 820.93
ISBN: 9780816071616
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Critical Survey of Long Fiction by Carl Rollyson; Carl E. Rollyson; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: R 809.3 (eBook)
ISBN: 9781587655357
Publication Date: 2010-01-25
Mark Twain
by Lloyd N. Dendinger
Literature and Its Times
Call Number: R 809.93358 LI
ISBN: 9780787606060
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
The Handmaid’s Tale

by Margaret Atwood
Readings on "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn" by Katie De Koster
Call Number: 813.4 RE
ISBN: 1565108191
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
This book includes a biography of Mark Twain and eighteen critical essays on the novel "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn."
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Gary Wiener
Call Number: 813.4 WI
ISBN: 1560067853
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
This book includes a biography of Samuel Langhorne Clemens; the historical background, plot, and characters of "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn"; and a literary analysis of the book.
Mark Twain's the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 813.4 MA
ISBN: 9780791094266
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 813.4 MA
ISBN: 0791082415
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
This book, a collection of contemporary criticism on Mark Twain's "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn," contains essays by Tom Quirk, Harry G. Segal, Carl F. Wieck, James S. Leonard, Sanford Pinsker, Sacvan Bercovitch, Jeffrey Steinbrink, and other writers.
American Slavery by Robert Felgar
Call Number: 810.9355 FE
ISBN: 9781610696470
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Contents: Introduction and background to American slavery -- Chronology -- Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave, written by himself -- Uncle Tom's cabin -- Incidents in the life of a slave girl -- Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.
Coming of Age by Kent Baxter; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 809.393 CO (eBook)
ISBN: 9781429837316
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Irony and Moral Development in Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice by Thomson Gale (Created by); Anne Marie Hacht
ISBN: 9781414402758
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
American Literature in Historical Context 1870-1920 by Ed. Tom Quirk and Gary Scharnhorst
Call Number: R 810.9 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 0684314649
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Novel, 1884
Louis J. Budd

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.

The Adventures Of Huck Finn Trailer

Google Scholar

Web Sites

ADVENTURES IN RACE: NOTES ON MARK TWAIN’S HUCKLEBERRY FINN
The Feminist Wire
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Written and Directed by Stephen Railton
Department of English, University of Virginia
Blackface Minstrelsy
EServer Cultural Studies and Critical Theory Collection
Folk Beliefs in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Huck and the Concord Library
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
Is Huck Finn Racist?
Mark Twain's Interactive Scrapbook
Interactive scrapbook about Mark Twain from PBS. "Discover the true Mark Twain through his writing and his collection of artifacts in his scrapbook."
Mark Twain in His Times
more...less...
Mark Twain in His Times
The San Francisco Chronicle [unsigned] 1885: March 15
We get Huck Finn all wrong: Race, Mark Twain, children and myths of an American classic
Our sense of comedy and seriousness in "Huck Finn" says more about America now than America in Mark Twain's time

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.