LibGuides: Keefe- Animal Farm: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

History & Miscellaneous Databases

Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window

Literature Databases

FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window

What are Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books

George Orwell by Kevin A. Boon
Call Number: 828.912 BO
ISBN: 9780761429609
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Presents a biography of writer George Orwell that describes his era, his major works, his life, and legacy plus an analysis of his novels Animal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four.
Critical Companion to George Orwell by Edward Quinn
Call Number: R 828.912 QU
ISBN: 9780816070916
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Examines the life and writings of George Orwell, including detailed synopses of his works, explanations of literary terms, biographies of friends and family, and social and historical influences.
George Orwell by John Rodden; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: e828.91209 GE
ISBN: 9781429837286
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Volume of literary criticism concerning the life and works of British writer George Orwell.
Literature and Its Times
Call Number: R 809.93358 LI
ISBN: 9780787606060
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Animal Farm

by George Orwell
Animal Farm by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 823.912 GE
ISBN: 079108583x
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
This book includes a brief biography of the author, thematic and structural analysis of the work, critical views, and an index of themes and ideas.
Animal Farm by Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: 823.912 GE
ISBN: 9781604135824
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
This book, a collection of contemporary criticism on George Orwell's "Animal Farm," contains essays by Daphne Patai, Valerie Meyers, Samir Elbarbary, V.C. Letemendia, Roger Fowler, Robert Pearce, Anthony Stewart, and Peter Edgerly Firchow.
Politics in George Orwell's Animal Farm by Dedria Bryfonski
Call Number: 823.912 PO
ISBN: 9780737750218
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
This book presents selected writings representing a variety of perspectives on the social issue of politics that is highlighted in "Animal Farm" by George Orwell.
The Literature of Propaganda by Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: R 809.933 LI
ISBN: 9781558628588
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Contains 300 entries that explore literary works that deal with propaganda. The set includes a wide variety of genres and has an international scope. It explores the works of authors shaped by a variety of political, social, and economic movements, and places each work in its historical context. Each entry includes an overview of the work, historical context, primary themes and style, and critical discussion.
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America by Martin J. Manning (Editor); Clarence R. Wyatt (Editor)
Call Number: R 303.37 EN
ISBN: 9781598842272
Publication Date: 2010-12-20
Encyclopedia of Russian History by James R. Millar, editor
Call Number: R 947.003 EN (eBook)
ISBN: 9780028656939
Publication Date: 2003-11-21
Communism
JOHN M. THOMPSON
Histories of Everyday Life in Totalitarian Regimes by St James Press (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781558629271
Publication Date: 2015-05-28
Animal Farm
Novel, 1945
David Aitchison
Literature and Its Times
Call Number: R 809.93358 LI
ISBN: 9780787606060
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
ANIMAL FARM
Stalin's Great Purge by Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: 947.0842 ST (eBook)
ISBN: 9780737763713
Publication Date: 2012-10-05
Offers multiple perspectives on momentous events. This volume offers varying analyses of the atrocities that occurred under Stalin's reign in the Soviet Union and his regime's lasting impact on the world today.
Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security by K. Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Wilmoth Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: R 327.12 EN (eBook)
ISBN: 078767687x
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
KGB (Komitet Gosudarstvennoi Bezopasnosti, USSR Committee of State Security)

Animal Farm Summary by Shmoop

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window

Web Sites

BBC- Animal Farm - Characters overview
The characters in Animal farm can be split into three groups - the humans, the pigs, and the other farm animals. Each group represents a different element of the Russian Revolution in 1917.
Animal Farm Character Profiles
Detailed character profiles from a novel guide site
Character Interpretation from the Animal Farm novel
Description of the characters and events from the novel Animal Farm
Propaganda Critic
Discusses propaganda and the various methods of establishing this system
Goodreads
Animal Farm Quotes
Freedom or oppression? The fear of dystopia
The Guardian: The cartoon that came in from the cold
For George Orwell, there was nothing pro-American about Animal Farm. The CIA, however, had other ideas. Karl Cohen tells the remarkable story of how US intelligence secretly funded a landmark British movie

MLA Citation Guides

CRLS RESEARCH GUIDE
This research guide will take you step by step through the process of "doing research" so that you don't get lost along the way.
more...less...
A research project is more complicated than getting the answers from the book or writing out of your own head. It requires you to keep track of a lot of different things, do some original thinking, look for examples to support your ideas and to put it all together in a neat package to present to an audience (your teacher, your class and maybe some guests).
Purdue OWL
Excellent MLA guides!
EasyBib MLA Citation Guide

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback

Animal Farm: Context and Background

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975