Home - 2019-20 World History - Foundations Project Research Paper - LibGuides at Watchung Hills Regional High School

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Country and Culture

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Country Watch Student Edition This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new window
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
ABC-CLIO: World Religions Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window
The advisor for this collection is J. Gordon Melton, PhD, author of more than 40 scholarly texts and reference books on religion, and a Distinguished Senior Fellow of the Institute for Religious Studies at Baylor University in Texas.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window

Issues and Current Events Databases

Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Miscellaneous Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
Questia Schools This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Multi-Search This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

Water by Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: 363.61 WA
ISBN: 9780737756661
Publication Date: 2011-11-18
Offering a panoramic view of opinions selected from a diverse range of international sources, this book traces the controversial issues on water, discussing sea level rising, the threat of acidification, the Pacific Ocean garbage patch, ocean pollution, and the Middle East Water Crisis.
Freshwater by James Fargo Balliett
Call Number: 363.61 BA
ISBN: 9780765682307
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
Focuses on a specific ecological niche and contains a detailed introductory section with definitions, examples, current ecological status, and background information.
Food and Famine in the 21st Century by William A. Dando (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598847307
Publication Date: 2012-02-13
Global Refugee Crisis by Mark Gibney
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598844559
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Women in Developing Countries by Karen L. Kinnear
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598844252
Publication Date: 2011-07-22
Global Social Issues by James Ciment; Christopher G. Bates
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780765682925
Publication Date: 2012-09-15
Human Trafficking by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Call Number: 364.137 CU (eBook)
ISBN: 9780816075454
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Presents a guide to human trafficking, including definitions, primary sources, case studies, research tools, organizations, and notable persons.
The Gun Debate by Glenn Utter (Editor); Grey House
Call Number: Presents varying views on gun rights and gun control and provides listings for various agencies, Web pages, and groups that have taken a stand on the issue.
ISBN: 1682171027
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Presents varying views on gun rights and gun control and provides listings for various agencies, Web pages, and groups that have taken a stand on the issue.
New Encyclopedia of Africa by John Middleton
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780684315577
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Gale Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414486819
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
An easy-to-use, systematic guide to the history and current status of 315 cultural groups outside the United States, including 25 groups new to the set. In nine volumes, the Encyclopedia is intended to offer students background and current status on cultures of the countries they are most likely to study.

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Schmoop- How to Write a Killer Thesis Statement

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

NEWSBANK

Study significant periods in American history from the Colonial Era to the Information Age. Explore these eras through primary source content from complete editions of U.S. newspapers in a timeline-based interface.

user name/password: watchung20

https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/americas-historical-newspapers?p=EANX-K12&pnews=WORLDNEWS

Web Sites

All Sides
Don't be fooled by bias. Think for yourself.
See news and issues from multiple perspectives, discuss like adults.
AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL
Amnesty International is a global movement of millions of people demanding human rights for all people –
more...less...
no matter who they are or where they are. We are the world’s largest grassroots human rights organization
Debate.org
Debate.org is a free online community where intelligent minds from around the world come to debate online and read the opinions of others.
more...less...
Research today’s most controversial debate topics and cast your vote on our opinion polls.
FactCheck.org
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
more...less...
Their mandate is to fact check what is being said "major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe.
more...less...
Its staff consists of human rights professionals including country experts, lawyers, journalists, and academics of diverse backgrounds and nationalities.
Infotopia: Browse Social Science Issues
Infotopia is an academic search engine accessing only trusted websites previously selected by librarians, teachers and library and educational consortia.
iSideWith.com
See where voters on polling on the most popular Domestic Policy issues of 2017.
Parallax News
Parallax News is a free email brief. It’s the quickest way to understand a divided world.
PolitiFact
PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
ProCon.org
THE LEADING SOURCE FOR PROS & CONS OF CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES
Public Agenda
Founded in 1975, Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization based in New York City.
more...less...
By elevating a diversity of voices, forging common ground and improving dialogue and collaboration among leaders and communities, Public Agenda fuels progress on critical issues, including education, health care and community engagement.
United Nations Sustainable Goals
The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are the world's best plan to build a better world for people and our planet by 2030.
more...less...
Adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, the SDGs are a call for action by all countries - poor, rich and middle-income - to promote prosperity while protecting the environment. They recognize that ending poverty must go hand-in-hand with strategies that build economic growth and address a range of social needs including education, health, equality and job opportunities, while tackling climate change and working to preserve our ocean and forests.
The Water Project, Inc.
The Water Project, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization unlocking human potential by providing reliable water projects
more...less...
to communities in sub-Saharan Africa who suffer needlessly from a lack of access to clean water and proper sanitation.
WomenWatch
Womenwatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality
more...less...
and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.
WORLD EDUCATION- ENGAGE, EDUCATE, INSPIRE
World Education improves the quality of life through education for half a million children and adults in 20 countries.
World Press
News and Views From Around the World
more...less...
Founded by Teri Schure in January 1997, Worldpress.org is a nonpartisan magazine whose mission is to foster the international exchange of perspectives and information.