Skip to main content

1984: Home

Literary Criticism resources for the novel 1984 by George Orwell.

Dystopias

In your reading of 1984, you have ventured into the world of dystopian literature.  The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction under its entry for "dystopias" states that "Dystopian images are almost invariably images of future society, pointing fearfully at the way the world is supposedly going in order to provide urgent propaganda for a change in direction."  Dystopian literature is a rich world of reading that had its beginnings in at the turn of the 20th century.  For a brief history of dystopian literature see the link to Andrew Liptak's "A Brief History of Dystopian Literature" in the Kirkus Review.  Browse this page for bits and pieces on just a few of the important titles and critical responses to this genre.

 

Databases

History & Miscellaneous Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Database Searching Tips

  •     It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
  •     COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.
  •     USE a database's sorting features for better results.
  •     Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

 

  •     Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
  •     Don’t forget to CITE your sources!  Most databases will have a citation tools” feature – use it!

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books

eBooks

Web Sites

1984 Spark Notes

Film Trailer

What 'Orwellian' means - TED

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975