LibGuides: Enrique's Journey: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Databases

EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams from ProQuest goes beyond basic facts and figures on more than 200 countries, with up-to-date reports detailing daily life and culture, history, customs and lifestyle from an insider's perspective.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new window
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window

What are Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books

Human Rights Violations by Charles F. Bahmueller (Editor)
Call Number: R 323.044 HU
ISBN: 1587650894
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
A history of both the denials and advances of human rights in the 20th century as seen through different events.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Editors (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0787675504
Publication Date: 2014-04-11
Immigration by Thomas Cieslik; David Felsen; Akis Kalaitzidis
Call Number: R 323.73 IM
ISBN: 9780313349102
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
Immigration by John Powell
Call Number: R 304.8 PO
ISBN: 081606234X
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Immigration by Dennis Wepman
Call Number: R 304.873 WE (eBook)
ISBN: 9780816062409
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
A chronological study of immigration to the United States throughout history.
U. S. Immigration and Migration by Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780787675653
Publication Date: 2004-05-28
The almanac volumes tell of the economic, religious and political forces that compelled people to seek a better life in a new land. These same forces later inspired the migration of many Americans to other areas in mass movements such as the Westward Expansion; the rural to urban migration; the Great Migration of blacks in the early part of the 20th century; and the migration to the Sunbelt starting in the 1960s.
Immigration in the United States by W. S. Dvorak
Call Number: 304.873 IM
ISBN: 9780824210915
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The Making of Modern Immigration by Patrick J. Hayes (Editor)
Call Number: R 304.873 MA
ISBN: 9780313392023
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Daily Life of the New Americans by Christoph Strobel
Call Number: 305.9 DA
ISBN: 9780313363139
Publication Date: 2010-06-02
Examines the daily lives of immigrants to the United States since 1965, providing an overview of the migration stories of people from various countries and continents, and discussing economics, family life and identity, community, society and culture, stereotypes and discrimination, and policy and politics.
Immigration by Ann Byers
Call Number: 342.7308 BY
ISBN: 9781477775127
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Examines constitutional issues surrounding immigration in the United States and discusses how immigration laws have changed.
American Immigration by James Ciment; John Radzilowski
Call Number: R 304.8 AM
ISBN: 9780765682123
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Provides a comprehensive encyclopedia listing the history of immigration to the United States, including laws and legislation that exist for illegal and legal immigration today.
Immigration by Robert Morrow
Call Number: 325.73 MO
ISBN: 9780761340805
Publication Date: 2009-01-10
Examines various issues related to legal and illegal immigration in the United States.
The Mexicans by C. J. Shane (Editor)
Call Number: 973 ME
ISBN: 0737721561
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Coming to America series

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.

Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliographies
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
EasyBib: Annotated Bibliographies

How to Stop the Caravans

How to Stop the Caravans
New York Times print version of the article titled, "I'm a Child of Immigrants. And I Have a Plan to Fix Immigration?

How to Stop the Caravans

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Immigration Web Sites

In-Text and Parenthetical Citations

Purdue Online Writing Lab
MLA In-Text Citations: The Basics
EasyBib: MLA 7 Basics: Parenthetical Citations Guide

MLA Citation Guides

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

EasyBib MLA Citation Guide

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback