LibGuides: Animal Farm: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

History & Miscellaneous Databases

ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window The Daily Life through History database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more that cannot be found elsewhere and are an asset to student research.
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window SIRS® Knowledge Source® is a comprehensive database portal which is comprised of several distinct reference databases including SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter®, and SIRS® Renaissance®. It provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society brings important issues in today’s world to students’ attention, highlighting the complete historical background, contemporary status, and global view of each. It provides students authoritative context, diverse expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources for truly understanding the issues that currently affect much of our global society, and for developing informed positions on those engendering controversy
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid

Literature Databases

FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center™ (LRC) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window LitFinder and the full-text-only LitFinder for Schools represent Gale’s core repository of literary works. International in scope, LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window ProQuest® Learning: Literature provides more than 180,000 full-text works of poetry, prose, and drama from around the world. This unique resource also offers secondary sources such as author biographies and multimedia, as well as literary criticisms, essays, reviews, and interviews drawn from more than 100 full-text literary magazines and journals.
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window All of the collections in Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online are integrated into Gale Artemis: Literary Sources, allowing researchers, teachers and students the ability to cross-search a wealth of primary and secondary sources and discover and analyse content in entirely new ways. In time, this environment will expand to include the majority of Gale Literature Collections before being combined with Gale Digital Collections on the one platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library containing full-text archives from more than 1,700 academic journals dating back to the first published volume, as wells as thousands of monographs, books and primary sources relevant for education. JSTOR also provides free access to hundreds of thousands of articles in the public domain. Content covers the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire archive is full-text searchable and includes high-quality images. New titles and other materials are added regularly.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
Questia Schools This link opens in a new window

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books

George Orwell by Kevin A. Boon
Call Number: 828.912 BO
ISBN: 9780761429609
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Presents a biography of writer George Orwell that describes his era, his major works, his life, and legacy plus an analysis of his novels Animal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four.
Critical Companion to George Orwell by Edward Quinn
Call Number: R 828.912 QU
ISBN: 9780816070916
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Examines the life and writings of George Orwell, including detailed synopses of his works, explanations of literary terms, biographies of friends and family, and social and historical influences.
George Orwell by John Rodden; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: e828.91209 GE
ISBN: 9781429837286
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Volume of literary criticism concerning the life and works of British writer George Orwell.
Dystopia by M. Keith Booker; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: e809.93372 DY
ISBN: 9781429837330
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Literature and Its Times
Call Number: R 809.93358 LI
ISBN: 9780787606060
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Animal Farm

by George Orwell
Animal Farm by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 823.912 GE
ISBN: 079108583x
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
This book includes a brief biography of the author, thematic and structural analysis of the work, critical views, and an index of themes and ideas.
Animal Farm by Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: 823.912 GE
ISBN: 9781604135824
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
This book, a collection of contemporary criticism on George Orwell's "Animal Farm," contains essays by Daphne Patai, Valerie Meyers, Samir Elbarbary, V.C. Letemendia, Roger Fowler, Robert Pearce, Anthony Stewart, and Peter Edgerly Firchow.
Politics in George Orwell's Animal Farm by Dedria Bryfonski
Call Number: 823.912 PO
ISBN: 9780737750218
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
This book presents selected writings representing a variety of perspectives on the social issue of politics that is highlighted in "Animal Farm" by George Orwell.
Histories of Everyday Life in Totalitarian Regimes by St James Press (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781558629271
Publication Date: 2015-05-28
1984
The Literature of Propaganda by Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: R 809.933 LI
ISBN: 9781558628588
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Contains 300 entries that explore literary works that deal with propaganda. The set includes a wide variety of genres and has an international scope. It explores the works of authors shaped by a variety of political, social, and economic movements, and places each work in its historical context. Each entry includes an overview of the work, historical context, primary themes and style, and critical discussion.

Animal Farm Summary by Shmoop

Web Sites

Freedom or oppression? The fear of dystopia
Character Interpretation from the Animal Farm novel
Description of the characters and events from the novel Animal Farm
Propaganda Critic
Discusses propaganda and the various methods of establishing this system
Goodreads
Animal Farm Quotes
Animal Farm Character Profiles
Detailed character profiles from a novel guide site
The Guardian: The cartoon that came in from the cold
For George Orwell, there was nothing pro-American about Animal Farm. The CIA, however, had other ideas. Karl Cohen tells the remarkable story of how US intelligence secretly funded a landmark British movie

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback

MLA Citation Guides

EasyBib MLA Citation Guide

Animal Farm: Context and Background

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975