Skip to main content

Alternative Energy Project: Home

Library resources for researching Alternative Energy

Alternative Energy

Alternative Energy

Energy from sources that are renewable and ecologically safe, as opposed to sources that are non-renewable with toxic by-products, such as coal, oil, or gas (fossil fuels), and uranium (for nuclear power). The most important alternative energy source is flowing water, harnessed as hydroelectric power. Other sources include the oceans' tides and waves (see tidal power station and wave power), wind power (harnessed by windmills and wind turbines), the Sun (solar energy), and the heat trapped in the Earth's crust (geothermal energy) (see also cold fusion).

1 "energy, alternative." Hutchinson Encyclopedia. 2011. eLibrary. Web. 15 Jan. 2017.

Horvat, Boris. TO GO WITH AFP STORY (FILES) - A picture taken on May 9, 2011.... Getty Images. 13 Oct. 2011. eLibrary. Web. 15 Jan. 2017.

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Science Databases

Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Scholarly Journal Databases

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books and eBooks

eBooks

RECs: Making Green Power Possible

CREDO SOURCE

Web Sites

Top 10 Energy Sources of the Future

Research Tools

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975