Skip to main content

All Quiet on the Western Front: Home

Library resources for the 10th Grade English classes on the novel All Quiet on the Western Front

All Quiet on the Western Front

Why Should I Care?

All Quiet on the Western Front gives us a different perspective on World War I than our history books might allow. Through this novel we get to hear the thoughts of a German soldier in WWI, an enemy of the United States and its allied forces. We cannot help but sympathize with our "enemy," and we cannot help but ask ourselves what exactly an enemy is. Paul Bäumer, the narrator of this story, helps us to question reasons why countries go to war. Today, wars are fought in very different ways, but we can easily imagine a young man or woman like Paul exploring similar issues of identity, patriotism, mortality, and dreams.

Footnote:

1 Shmoop Editorial Team, "All Quiet on the Western Front," Shmoop University, Inc. , 11 November 2008, http://www.shmoop.com/all-quiet-on-western-front/ (accessed September 2, 2014).

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

War & Genocide Databases

Health Databases

Social Studies Databases

Literature Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Find
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Or go to Destiny...

Books and eBooks

Web Sites

Life in a Trench- History Channel

Research Tools

Media Specialist

Scott Keele's picture
Scott Keele
Contact:
108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059
908-647-4800 x 2975