LibGuides: Gottlieb- AP English Research Paper: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature & Biography Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window

History & Miscellaneous Databases

ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window
Main portal page of ABC-CLIO which gives you access to all of their history and issues databases.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
The main search page for the Gale Cengage databases. Contains both cross-searchable and individual databases.
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window

Short Stories

The Literature Network
The Masque of the Red Death
Project Gutenberg

Complete Original Short Stories of Guy de Maupassant by Guy de Maupassant
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438156903
Publication Date: 2014
The Diamond Necklace

Diamond Necklace

The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway by Ernest Hemingway; John Hemingway (Introduction by); Patrick Hemingway (Introduction by); Gregory H. Hemingway (Introduction by); Charles Scribner (Preface by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780020332008
Publication Date: 1991-06-01
Soldier's Home
Short story, 1925
Ernest Hemingway
American Writer ( 1899 - 1961 )
In Love and Trouble by Alice Walker
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780156444507
Publication Date: 1974-03-20
Everyday Use
Short story, 1994
Walker, Alice (American novelist)
Mosses from an Old Manse by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781438159676
Publication Date: 2014
Young Goodman Brown

Mosses from an Old Manse

Twice-Told Tales by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438159683
Publication Date: 2014
THE MINISTER'S BLACK VEIL

Twice-Told Tales

What Men Live By and Other Tales by Leo Tolstoy
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438159317
Publication Date: 2014
HOW MUCH LAND DOES A MAN NEED?

What Men Live By and Other Tales

CrossRoads Project- Edger Allen Poe
This anthology is a training project for students in the English Department at The University of Virginia who are learning to create hypertexts.
more...less...
The source of the text varies -- existing ascii texts from Project Gutenberg, The Electronic Text Center at The University of Virginia, the archive at Virginia Tech, and new scans of various sources. In time, all texts will be corrected to The Library of America edition of Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and Tales.

EDGAR ALLAN POE: Tales, Sketches and Selected Criticism

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Multi-Search This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1991)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1992)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant‎ (1764 - 1990)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books

American Eras. Vol. 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877 by Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Contribution by); Thomas J. Brown (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0787614785
Publication Date: 1998-07-24
1850–1877: The Arts: Overview
An American Renaissance. The 1850s were a watershed decade for American literature. Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter (1850) and Herman Melville's Moby-Dick (1851) are widely acknowledged as the first true masterpieces of the American novel
Nathaniel Hawthorne by Jack Lynch (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 813.3 NA
ISBN: 9781587656040
Publication Date: 2009-10-10
Examines the individual author's entire body of work and on his/her single works of literature.
Ralph Waldo Emerson by Donald Yannella
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0805773444
Publication Date: 1982-06-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Ralph Waldo Emerson.
American Literature in Historical Context 1820-70 by Tom Quirk; Gary Scharnhorst
Call Number: R 810.9 AM
ISBN: 9780684314600
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Nature (Emerson)
Critical Survey of Long Fiction by Carl Rollyson; Carl E. Rollyson; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: R 809.3
ISBN: 9781587655357
Publication Date: 2010-01-25
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Literary Movements for Students by David Galens (Editor)
Call Number: R 809.91
ISBN: 0787665185
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Introduction to Literary Context: Plays by Salem Press Editors
Call Number: R 809.2 IN (eBook)
ISBN: 9781619257153
Publication Date: 2014-11-12
The Crucible by Arthur Miller
by Alyssa Colton, Ph.D.
Content Synopsis
The Crucible - Arthur Miller by Harold Bloom
Call Number: 812.52 AR
ISBN: 9780791098288
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
This book, a collection of contemporary criticism on Arthur Miller's "The Crucible,"
Arthur Miller by Brenda Murphy (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: 812.52 AR (eBook)
ISBN: 9781587656972
Publication Date: 2010-10-08
This brief biography presents the events of his life, and a quartet of new essays provide valuable context for studying his work. This volume brings together a variety of new and classic essays on Miller's life and works.
Bloom's Literary Themes by Harold Bloom; Blake Hobby (Editor)
Call Number: 809.933 AL
ISBN: 9780791097984
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Reading the Original: Alienation, Writing, and Labor in 'Bartleby, the Scrivener'.
American History Through Literature, 1820-1870 by Janet Gabler-Hover; Robert Sattelmeyer
Call Number: R 810.9 AM (eBook)
ISBN: 0684314924
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
"Bartleby, the Scrivener"
American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Nature and the Environment by Scott Slovic (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: 810.936 NA (eBook)
ISBN: 9781429837385
Publication Date: 2012-09-01

Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations
Current Topics from Salem Press

Literature and Its Times
Call Number: R 809.93358 LI
ISBN: 9780787606060
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Contains profiles of three hundred notable literary works written from ancient times through the end of the twentieth century, relating them to the historical context in which they were written and in which they are set; arranged alphabetically by title within five historical periods.

Bartleby The Scrivener (eBook)

Project Gutenberg

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lfh&AN=22088168&site=lrc-live

eBooks

Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Primary sources are materials that contain firsthand evidence of events, usually recorded by someone who participated in, witnessed, or lived through the event.

The following are commonly considered primary sources:

Diaries, letters, personal papers, autobiographies
Photographs or original video tapes or television advertisements
Interviews and transcripts
Newspaper accounts
Government records
Historical records
Statutes, regulations, by-laws, case law and administrative rulings
Statistical data
Artistic or creative works (poems, paintings, sculpture, etc.)

Secondary sources are works that are not original primary sources, but documents which offer an analysis, interpretation, or evaluation of information gathered from primary sources. For example, books critiquing Shakespeare's plays or a product review are secondary sources.

The following are commonly considered secondary sources:

Biographies
Criticisms
Dissertations
Editorials and reviews
Journal/Magazine articles providing analysis, interpretation, or evaluation
Newspaper accounts that report various sources of information

Primary Sources- a Close Reading

Google Scholar

Microsoft Academic

Microsoft Academic
Research more, search less

What is a Primary Source?

MLA Citation Guides

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

EasyBib MLA Citation Guide

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback

Gottlieb- AP English Research Paper: Home

LITERARY PERIODS AND THEIR CHARACTERS