LibGuides: Petracca-US II 2018: Home

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings

Issues and Current Events Databases

Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window

Miscellaneous Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Power Search This link opens in a new window
Questia Schools This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Knowledge Source® is a comprehensive database portal which is comprised of several distinct reference databases including SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter®, and SIRS® Renaissance®. It provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Warrior One Search

Search Multiple WHRHS Databases

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

The September 11 Terrorist Attacks by Kevin Hillstrom
Call Number: 973.931 HI
ISBN: 9780780812406
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
"Provides a comprehensive account of the origins of Islamic radicalism; the development of Osama bin Laden and al-Qaeda into a deadly force; the horrible events of September 11; the post-9/11 investigations; and the legacy of the 9/11 attacks."--Provided by publisher.
Brown V. Board of Education by Robert J. Cottrol (Editor, Translator); Raymond T. Diamond; Leland B. Ware
Call Number: 344.73 CO
ISBN: 0700612890
Publication Date: 2003-10-30
Landmark Supreme Court Cases by Roy M. Mersky; Gary Hartman
Call Number: R 347.7326 HA
ISBN: 0816024529
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
Provides an overview of landmark decisions of the United States Supreme Court, including the topics of abortion, antitrust, civil rights, due process, executive privilege, taxation, and more.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0684806576
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
From the founding of the United States to the present, concerned citizens have debated the breadth of presidential power in foreign affairs. The Founders, from their reading of European history and their experience with...
Material Culture in America by Helen Sheumaker (Editor); Shirley Teresa Wajda (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781576076477
Publication Date: 2007-11-07
The Automobile in America.
Postwar America by James Ciment
ISBN: 9780765680679
Publication Date: 2006-12-15
The Automobile Industry
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by John R. Vile
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1598843168
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Minorities by Melissa J. Doak
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414407654
Publication Date: 2008-10-03
Examines the differences between minority groups and white Americans across the economic, political, and social spectrums. Explores the experience of African-Americans, Hispanics, Native Americans, Asian-Americans, and other minority groups living in the United States.

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.

Multi-Cultural Databases

ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window

War & Genocide Databases

ABC-CLIO: World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences This link opens in a new window
It enables students to fully grasp the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, showing them repeating patterns in history and giving them the agency to work to diminish hatred that could lead to future genocides.

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Multi-Search This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

Petracca-US II 2018: Home

U.S. History II

American History Databases

Issues and Current Events Databases

Miscellaneous Databases

World History Databases

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Warrior One Search

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

eBooks

Multi-Cultural Databases

War & Genocide Databases

Newspaper Databases

Database Searching Tips

Media Specialist