LibGuides: Poetry: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
ABC-CLIO Multi-Product Page This link opens in a new window

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Media Specialist

Scott Keele

Email Me

Contact:

108 Stirling Road
Warren, NJ 07059

908-647-4800 x 2975

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

Critical Survey of Poetry by Rosemary M. Canfield Reisman (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: R 809.1 CR
ISBN: 9781587655821
Publication Date: 2011-02-10
Poetry for Students by Ira Mark Milne, ed.
Call Number: R 809.1 PO
ISBN: 9780787698935
Publication Date: 2008-09-09
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
Contemporary Poets by Thomas Riggs, ed.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1558623493
Publication Date: 2000-09-28
Concise discussions of the lives and principal works of poets from around the world, written by subject experts.
Gwendolyn Brooks by Harold Bloom
Call Number: 811.54 GW
ISBN: 0791068153
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Sailing Alone Around the Room by Billy Collins
Call Number: 811.54 CO
ISBN: 9780375755194
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
New and Selected Poems
World Poets
Call Number: R 809.1 WO
ISBN: 068480591x
Publication Date: 2000-05-05
Notable African American Writers by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: R 810.9896 NO
ISBN: 9781587652721
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
The Norton Anthology of Poetry by Margaret Ferguson (Editor)
Call Number: 821.008 NO
ISBN: 039396924x
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
The Norton Anthology of Modern Poetry by Richard Ellmann (Editor); Robert O'Clair (Editor)
Call Number: 821 NO
ISBN: 9780393956368
Publication Date: 1988-05-01
American Poetry by Library of America Staff (Editor); Robert Hass (Compiled by); John Hollander (Compiled by); Carolyn Kizer (Compiled by); Nathaniel Mackey (Compiled by); Marjorie Perloff (Compiled by)
Call Number: 811.5 AM
ISBN: 1883011779
Publication Date: 2000-03-20
Thematic Guide to American Poetry by Allan Burns
Call Number: R 811.009 BU
ISBN: 0313314624
Publication Date: 2002-09-30
African American Poets by Joyce Owens Pettis
Call Number: R 811.009 PE
ISBN: 031331117x
Publication Date: 2002-06-30

TED TALKS: Stephen Burt: Why people need poetry

Plagiarism Definition

Plagiarism is presenting someone else's work or ideas as your own, with or without their consent, by incorporating it into your work without full acknowledgement. All published and unpublished material, whether in manuscript, printed or electronic form, is covered under this definition.

"plagiarism, n." OED Online. Oxford University Press, December 2016. Web. 17 December 2016.

Are You Plagiarizing?

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Web Sites

Poets.Org
Academy of American Poets
Project Gutenberg: Poetry (Bookshelf)
Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Modern & Contemporary American Poetry
University of Pennsylvania site that includes hundreds of links to reference and general resource information on both modern and contemporary American poets.
Famous Poets And Poems . com
FamousPoetsandPoems.com is a free poetry site. We have a large collection of 20 000 poems from over 550 poets.
more...less...
The authors listed on this site include some of the greatest poets of all the time. Their names have a very special place in the history of the world - and within our hearts. They have taught us Beauty. They have taught us Truth. And their lessons, for each
generation, begin a new.
The Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive is a not-for-profit organisation that produces, acquires and preserves recordings of poets from around the English-speaking world and makes substantial excerpts from them freely available online. Our Children’s Poetry Archive is dedicated to poetry written for children and presented in a website which is easy and fun to use.
more...less...
We are funded by Arts Council, England, as well as a number of charitable trusts and foundations, philanthropic individuals and generous supporters.
Modern American Poetry
What makes MAPS unique is its emphasis on collaborative process. MAPS is not a single, didactic edifice that hides its agenda behind a veil of authority.
more...less...
It is a living, breathing conversation between hundreds of poets, scholars, and readers, constantly growing and presented in an eminently clear and usable way. Extraordinary in its depth and breadth, and a one-of-a-kind resource for teaching modern American poetry, MAPS provides a single clearinghouse for some of the best criticism on the best poets of our time.
Poetry Foundation
Welcome to PoemHunter.com
The American Verse Project
more...less...
The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920
Poetry 180 / A Poem a Day for American High Schools
Poetry Daily
Poetry Daily is an anthology of contemporary poetry. Each day, we bring you a new poem from new books, magazines, and journals.
Welcome to Bartleby.com
The preeminent internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers, and the intellectually curious
more...less...
with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Poetry Out Loud
more...less...
Since 2005, Poetry Out Loud has grown to reach more than 3 million students and 50,000 teachers from 10,000 school in every state, Washington, DC, the US Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.
The EServer Poetry Collection