LibGuides: Raisin in the Sun: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Databases

Gale: Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window

Health Databases

Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Below are relevant research terms that may be used to conduct further research on this topic:

Fair Housing Act
Racial discrimination
Discriminatory intent
Disparate impact
Affordable housing
Civil Rights Act
Housing and Urban Development
Discriminatory conduct
Racial steering
Housing segregation
Zoning
Integrated housing
Redlining

Books

Major Acts of Congress by Brian K. Landsberg
Call Number: R 348.73 MA (eBook)
ISBN: 9780028657493
Publication Date: 2003-11-19
FAIR HOUSING ACT OF 1968
Steven J. Gunn
Human and Civil Rights by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
Call Number: R 300 SO (eBook)
ISBN: 9781414403267
Publication Date: 2006-09-22
Fair Housing Act
Legislation
American Civil Rights by Phillis Engelbert (Compiled by); Betz DesChenes (Editor)
Call Number: R 305.8 AM
ISBN: 0787631701
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
Presents fifteen documents, including speeches, autobiographical text, and proclamations, related to the civil rights movement and arranged in the categories of economic rights, desegregation, and human rights.
Race Relations in the United States [Five Volumes] by Leslie Vincent Tischauser
Call Number: 305.8 UP
ISBN: 9780313337178
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Civil Rights in the United States by Waldo E. Martin; Patricia Sullivan
Call Number: R 323 CI
ISBN: 0028647653
Publication Date: 2000-02-18
The Civil Rights Movement by Paul A. Winters
Call Number: 323.1 CI
ISBN: 9780737702170
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Civil Rights Act Of 1964 by Judy L. Hasday
Call Number: 342.7308 HA
ISBN: 9780791093559
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
The Fifties in America by John C. Super (Editor); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: R 973.92 FI (eBook)
ISBN: 1587652021
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Civil Rights Movement
Postwar America, 1950-1969 by Rodney P. Carlisle (General Editor)
Call Number: 973.92 PO
ISBN: 9780816071814
Publication Date: 2009-07-01

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

Scholarly Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Housing Web Links

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.

Purdue Owl: Annotated Bibliographies
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
EasyBib: Annotated Bibliographies

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback