LibGuides: Griffith- American Literature/ English 3: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Issues and Scholarly Databases

ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Databases

Gale: Custom Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Custom Newspapers features 33.5 million full-text articles in 150
newspapers, including The Star Ledger and New York Times.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Multi-Search This link opens in a new window ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1991) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1992) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant‎ (1764 - 1990) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the eighteenth century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ contains over 30 million digitized pages.
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

American History Databases

ABC-CLIO American Government This link opens in a new window
It identifies values the government has traditionally upheld and how the government of today continues to reflect those values, while simultaneously examining changes that the government has undergone since the nation’s founding.
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
FactsOnFile: American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

World History Databases

ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500's, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
FactsOnFile: Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window

Multi-Cultural Databases

ABC-CLIO:The African American Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
ABC-CLIO: The American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
FactsOnFile: American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale: LitFinder This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Find a Book!

Books and eBooks

Policing in America by Leonard A. Steverson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598840445
Publication Date: 2007-08-28
Drugs by Greenhaven Press Staff (Editor); Noel Merino
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780737769982
Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Court Gives School Drug-Testing an A
Social Issues in America by James Ciment
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-03-15
This work covers hotly contested social issues in America today--everything from abortion, academic freedom, and affirmative action to consumer debt, homeland security, illegal immigration, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, and terrorism. Each entry discusses the historical origins of a particular debate or controversy; the means for dealing with it in the past; current perspectives and arguments; and the implications for society in the near- and long-term future.
Student Drug Testing by Lauri S. Friedman (Editor)
Call Number: 371.784 ST
ISBN: 9780737756869
Publication Date: 2011-08-12
Gun Violence by Lauri S. Friedman (Editor); Lauri S. Scherer
Call Number: R 363.33 GU
ISBN: 9780737762952
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Stem Cell Research and Cloning by Alan Marzilli
Call Number: 174.28 MA
ISBN: 0791092305
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
This book explores the legal and political ramifications of the debates about embryonic stem cell research and therapeutic cloning.
Global Warming by Natalie Goldstein; Kerry Harrison Cook
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438117447
Presents a guide to the issues of global warming, including definitions, primary sources, case studies, research tools, organizations, and notable persons.
Animal Rights Movement by Laura Perdew
Call Number: 179.3 PE
ISBN: 9781617838842
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Traces the history of the animal rights movement in the United States, following the movement from the first work to improve animals' welfare through the awakening of the animal rights movement and up to the battles that continue today.
Fracking by Kevin Hillstrom (Editor)
Call Number: 622.3381 HI
ISBN: 9781420508697
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
Examines the origins and development of fracking; how fracking works, the benefits, the drawbacks, and both the promise and the peril of this method of extracting natural gas.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780028659602
Publication Date: 2007-08-23
Birth Control by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Noel Merino
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780737769944
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
Women of Today, 1980-Present by Kaye Stearman; Patience Coster
Call Number: 305 ST (eBook)
ISBN: 9781438137100
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Women of Today explores the role of the modern woman and her depiction in popular culture, and how women's roles vary across cultural boundaries.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Call Number: R 304.873 EN
ISBN: 9781587655999
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Federal government’s forced evacuation and relocation of Japanese Americans living on the West Coast to internment camps during World War II

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
See what GVRL can make possible for your students and faculty when you deliver more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish, a leading publisher of nonfiction series and multi-volume reference works for schools and libraries, is proud to present Marshall Cavendish eBooks. Marshall Cavendish eBooks are searchable digital books that include the full text and illustrations of select Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, Reference, and Children’s titles.

Database Searching Tips

It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.
COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

USE a database's sorting features for better results.
Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.
Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

Web Sites

All Sides
Don't be fooled by bias. Think for yourself.
See news and issues from multiple perspectives, discuss like adults.
Debate.org
Debate.org is a free online community where intelligent minds from around the world come to debate online and read the opinions of others. Research today’s most controversial debate topics and cast your vote on our opinion polls.
FactCheck.org
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Their mandate is to fact check what is being said "major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."
iDebate database
Infotopia: Browse Social Science Issues
Infotopia is an academic search engine accessing only trusted websites previously selected by librarians, teachers and library and educational consortia.
iSideWith.com
See where voters on polling on the most popular Domestic Policy issues of 2017.
JustFacts: Your source for reliable research
The mission of Just Facts is to research and publish verifiable facts about the leading public policy issues of our time. To accomplish this with impartiality and excellence, we abide by Standards of Credibility to determine what constitutes a credible fact and what does not.
Parallax News
Parallax News is a free email brief. It’s the quickest way to understand a divided world.
PolitiFact
PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
ProCon.org
THE LEADING SOURCE FOR PROS & CONS OF CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES
Public Agenda
Founded in 1975, Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization based in New York City.
more...less...
By elevating a diversity of voices, forging common ground and improving dialogue and collaboration among leaders and communities, Public Agenda fuels progress on critical issues, including education, health care and community engagement.
World Press
News and Views From Around the World
more...less...
Founded by Teri Schure in January 1997, Worldpress.org is a nonpartisan magazine whose mission is to foster the international exchange of perspectives and information.

Annotated Bibliographies

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY An annotated bibliography is a listing of the resources consulted for research purposes. An annotated bibliography is listed in alphabetical order according to author and contains the following information in this order.

i. Citation in MLA format

ii. Summary of the sources’ content (See sample below.)

Castelvecchi, D. (2008, August 30). “Carbon Tubes leave nano behind.” Science News, 174(5), Retrieved from http://www.sciencenews.org.

This source, which describes a new, flexible lightweight material 30 times stronger than Keviar and possibly useful for better bulletproof vests, provides evidence of yet another upcoming technology that might be useful to law enforcement. This article focuses on the ways in which lighter, stronger, bulletproof materials might change SWAT tactics, for instance, enabling them to carry more gear, protect police vehicles, or to blend into crowds better.