LibGuides: Dorian Gray: Home

Warrior One Search

Quick 1-step search of many of the WHRHS Library databases!

Literature Databases

Gale: Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
FactsOnFile: Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
EBSCOhost: Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gale: Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
eLibrary This link opens in a new window

Health Databases

Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
FactsOnFile: Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

Databases

Gale In Context- High School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.
EBSCOhost Explora: Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
Gale: Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO: Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Gale: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Empower students to understand topics from a non-U.S. perspective Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
FactsOnFile This link opens in a new window This is the main page for the Infobase databases. It contains 13 databases that provide a wide range of resources, including full-text articles, biographies, primary source documents, images, videos, maps, timelines, charts, diagrams, and news articles.
ABC-CLIO: Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 9,000 primary and secondary sources including newspapers, magazines, narratives, and letters of correspondence and images that actually show students moments and elements of daily life throughout history
ABC-CLIO: Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
all of the things that students find interesting about today’s culture, in the context of America’s past. It is a complement to any social studies course about life in America since the 1900s and an outstanding resource for research and discovery.
Highlights
Houses more than 5,400 primary and secondary sources, including more than 2,800 photos and illustrations and more than 220 audio and video recordings
ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Highlights
Houses more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, and more
ABC-CLIO: World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Gale: US History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale: World History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window

Databases A-Z

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

What are Databases

Find a Book!

Search for topics using the following tabs: Keyword; Subject

Suggested Search Terms:

60's Movement
Aesthetic Movement
Aging
Appearance
Beauty
Body Image
Gender; Gender Issues
Greed
Innocence
Intellect
Obsession
Sexual Orientation
Social Class
Values
Women
Youth

Depending on which prompt you have decided to write on, the following terms may be useful to you.

In Gale eBooks, use broad terms such as:

narcissism
narcissistic personality disorder
Dorian Gray
parenting styles

In the larger databases (WorldCat, Gale, and EBSCO as well as Google Scholar), try combining terms or using specific terms inside quotation marks:

narcissism and parenting
narcissism Wilde
narcissism leaders / narcissism leadership
"lifestyle drugs"
"body dysmorphic disorder"

Books

Short Stories for Students by Ira Mark Milne (Editor); Thomas E. Barden (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook 809.31
ISBN: 0787670308
Publication Date: 2005-10-28
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Critical Approaches to Literature by Robert Evans (Editor)
Call Number: 809.93 CRI
ISBN: 1682172724
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
A collection of essays analyzing literature from a psychological perspective.
American Literature in Historical Context 1870-1920 by Tom Quirk & Gary Scharnhorst, editors in chief
Call Number: R 810.9 AM
ISBN: 0684314649
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Examines the relationship between American history and literature between 1870 and 1920, presenting alphabetized articles on topics such as business and industry novels, Darwinism, feminism, immigration, and World War
Literary Movements for Students
Call Number: R 809.91 LI
ISBN: 0787665177
Publication Date: 2002-09-18
A student guide to understanding literary movements, featuring entries on twenty-eight movements, each with information in the areas of representative authors and works, themes, style, movement variations, and historical context, as well as a critical overview.
Body Image by Ronnie D. Lankford
Call Number: 306.4 LA
ISBN: 9781420501469
Publication Date: 2010-03-19
This book defines "body image"; describes the development of both positive and negative body images; discusses how biology and culture affect body image; and explains various ways of altering body image.
Gothic Literature a Gale Critical Companion by Thomson Gale
Call Number: 820.911
ISBN: 9781414404868
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Spans all facets of gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.
Authors of the 19th Century by Adam Augustyn (Editor)
Call Number: R 809 BR
ISBN: 9781622750016
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
From a period of flourishing literary movements and experimentation with new styles, this book profiles the lives and works of eighty of the 19th century's greatest writers.
Facts on File Encyclopedia of Gothic Literature by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: R 809.911 SN
ISBN: 9780816055289
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
An alphabetical reference guide detailing the lives and works of authors associated with Gothic literature.
The Facts on File Companion to the American Short Story by Abby H. P. Werlock (Editor)
Call Number: R 813 FA
ISBN: 0816031649
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Contains over 675 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about various aspects of the American short story, providing author biographies and bibliographies; story synopses and analyses; character profiles; definitions of literary terms, themes, and motifs; discussion of historical events; and lists of award winners.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas (Editor)
Call Number: e306.703
ISBN: 9780028661155
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Victorian England by Gail B. Stewart
Call Number: 942.081 ST
ISBN: 9781601526021
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Provides an introduction to the Victorian era.
Novels for Students vol. 20 by Ira Mark Milne
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0787669431
Publication Date: 2004-11-12
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Critical Survey of Long Fiction vol. 9 by Carl Rollyson (Editor)
Call Number: R 809.3 CR (eBook)
ISBN: 9781587655357
Publication Date: 2010-01-25
Oscar Wilde
by Steve D. Boilard
Oscar Wilde by Donald H. Ericksen
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0805766804
Publication Date: 1977-10-01
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Women, Science, and Myth by Sue V. Rosser (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781598840957
Publication Date: 2008-06-23
The Manifesto in Literature vol. 1 by Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781558628663
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Preface to The Picture of Dorian Gray
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Michael P. Gillespie
ISBN: 0805785957
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
Dorian Grey - Historical Context

CREDO SOURCE

Credo Source This link opens in a new window
Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional
videos and tutorials, as well as access to your other subscription databases. Source is a great
starting point for research.

eBooks

Gale: Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost: eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO offers hundreds of thousands of high-quality e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search. Build a collection from a growing selection of best-selling, frontlist and award-winning titles across a wide range of subject matter—including academic titles, popular fiction, medical collections and more.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from Salem Press, The Reference Shelf, and Grey House Publishing.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries. It offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Marshall Cavendish This link opens in a new window

Short Story Web Sites

The Literature Network
Welcome to The Literature Network!
more...less...
We offer searchable online literature for the student, educator, or enthusiast. To find the work you're looking for start by looking through the author index. We currently have over 3500 full books and over 4400 short stories and poems by over 260 authors.
Project Gutenberg
INFOBase Short Story eBooks

Search Engines

Microsoft Academic
Research more, search less

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers & Librarians
This quick guide covers the following topics:

How to create a new account
How to create a new project and add sources and notecards
How to set up a project inbox to receive student work and provide feedback

In-Text and Parenthetical Citations

Purdue Online Writing Lab
MLA In-Text Citations: The Basics
EasyBib: MLA 7 Basics: Parenthetical Citations Guide

Dorian Gray: Home

The Picture of Dorian Gray